So Here We Are

It is 5:30 a.m. here in suburban Detroit, and I actually managed to get out of bed to write before work. It's a whole new era. Birds are chirping wildly outside this morning, which I noticed because last night our air-conditioning broke and so we opened the windows to let in some fresh air. If the air-conditioning wasn't so central to Sam's comfort level I would use it a lot less – I hate how disconnected it makes me feel from summer. I didn't have it growing up, and I miss the comforting rattle of fans, the humidity sinking into my bones throughout the night. But Sam is not a heat person – never goes to the beach or sits in the sun or wants to vacation in the islands (he's always recommending places like Montreal in January) and so we air-condition.

So, this is my new blog. I have to say so far, I'm digging it. It's much easier to navigate that blogspot, and people can comment without being members, so that's fun. I think as time goes on I'll be able to have a blog roll, link to other sites, and maybe have a reading list…it will take me a while to figure it out.

The title came after speaking with a fellow writer at a workshop recently. She was talking about short stories, and how short stories are for the misfit characters in the world – characters who don't fit into novels or novellas, so the short story is perfect for them; it gives us a small slice of their life without overwhelming us with all the misfitedness of their natures. And I think this applies to my blog, because I've never been able to narrow down one subject, like so many of my favorites do. So this is the blog for all the misfit thoughts, the thoughts that don't fit so nicely into single-subject blogs. Instead of conforming to other blogs, we are embracing our nature. The rest of the title, (the public,the private and everything in between) stems (obviously) from the idea of two spheres – the public and the private. You know how throughout your schooling there are occasional moments that you particularly remember learning about? For me, I remember the first time I heard the Samuel Taylor Coleridge idea of a willing suspension of disbelief; I remember learning the five turning points that led to the Civil War, and I remember learning about the different spheres, and how relegating women to the private sphere at once eliminated them from public places and gaining public power but simultaneously opened up a different kind of power (the civilizing influence, the center of morality in the household, etc.) – I remember thinking the theory of the spheres was exactly why my younger brother was allowed to go to concerts and parties and I was not. So hence, the title.

Other than that, today marks the beginning of the smallest of power struggles in my little household of two: who will stay home for the air-conditioning man? It's quite evident that Sam is TOO BUSY this week to do so, and while he never mentioned it I feel it's ultimately put upon me to stay home and wait for the repairman. But why? Why is that? As I pointed out to him last night, I stayed home when we blew an electric circuit.

"I know you did," he said. "We'll figure this out. I'll see if I can stay home."

Which, you know, I take to mean that no matter what it will be me staying home to wait for the repairman, even though my husband is not a liar and is usually true to his word, but let's face it, I am the one who is allowed to work from home when she chooses, and I am the one who never ever goes into the office on Fridays, so kindness dictates that I wait for the repairman. So why, inside me, is there a little crushed voice screaming "It's so UNFAIR! You work too! You did, after all, stay home when the circuit breaker blew! Sam SHOULD stay home – it's his turn!" It's completely illogical. But it' s one of those tiny struggles that arise in marriages that seem so *important* to win – like it will reflect directly on how much my husband respects my career and my role in our relationship.

Mountains out of molehills, people – mountains out of molehills.

Below is the book I'm currently reading  (edited to add, I can't  figure out how to upload images…will practice with this later – The book is War and Remembrance by Herman Wouk- took me nearly six months after completing The Winds of War to come back to the Henry family and WWII, but as promised I'm enjoying this second book much more than the first, although I think they just killed off my favorite character – not sure- I may find him bandaged from head to toe on an island hospital somewhere. Let's hope. Happy Tuesday

This entry was posted in On the Nightstand, Sisterhood Sacrificed. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So Here We Are

  1. Katie says:

    Love the new site, Courtney! Especially the category titles. From one misfit blogger to another…

  2. kj says:

    Um…guess I better make the move too, hey?

    Nice post!

  3. Dahlia says:

    super ideas here, thanks.

  4. rachael says:

    i love that bedroom furniture!

  5. shelly says:

    i love that dishwasher!

Leave a Reply

