I wrote a post, my computer froze, I lost the post

and now there is no time left to regain lost footing.  So I’ll just say that I think Bill Clinton has secretly been reading my blog, I ate potato chips for lunch at this forced work-picnic thing (the only things w/out soy there) and now I feel just, well, disgusting, and this morning I finally managed to wake up and work on the second chapter of my novel.  In in my main character was really happy and so when I left the house I found myself echoing her emotion. Today it’s all shadow and light outside, the sky a dark autumnal blue, the shade from trees darker and deeper than yesterday, the sun more mellow with its warmth, too.  It’s a day for sweet coffees and long lingering conversations at outdoor cafe tables, for in-depth paper reading and desultory political conversation.  It’s a day where fall seems imminent, making the hours all that much better because today, well, it’s still summer. 

It’s the kind of day where my boss, usually so committed to salads and water for lunch, said “Screw it.  I’m in a cheeseburger mood,” and she happily ate a whole one and washed it down with coca cola. 

It’s a Robert Frost, Courtney better get her butt back to work kind of day, so here you go, the fifth poem in the series:

Fire and Ice

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To know that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

This entry was posted in Everything In Between, Hopelessly Indulgent Reflection, The Private, Time for a Hundred Visions and Revisions, Top 100 Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I wrote a post, my computer froze, I lost the post

  1. litlove says:

    Nice to know Bill Clinton’s reading – I look forward to seeing a comment from him soon, perhaps on one of the poems? And, joking aside, lovely poem, too.

  2. Oh, thanks! I always enjoy Robert Frost. He’s a nice break.

  3. bloglily says:

    that’s such a beautiful description of your day and a wonderful poem. Thanks courtney! xxoo, Lily

  4. Pingback: coloring pages

  5. Pingback: by diarist diary ned paris phelps port robert rorem

  6. Pingback: ecko clothing

  7. Pingback: love poem quote

  8. Pingback: being eastern powerweb religion religious shinto ways ways world

  9. Pingback: cheat gta

Leave a Reply

