Fifteen confessions in ten minutes, and maybe poem number six

I wrote a post earlier today (no! I did not lose it this time!) comparing writing to the performing arts but for the life of me I couldn’t choreograph the language in any way that worked and so I chose not to post it, and now I find myself near the end of the day without having blogged, and so I’m thankfully falling back on the everything in betweenedness I’ve allowed myself on this blog and posting an idea I had while walking to my car on the way to a late-afternoon interview. So here we go, 15 confessions in ten minutes or less, and maybe poem number six.  It’s 4:05 currently.

(1.) This morning I accidently ran the air conditioner in my car while the window was down, contributing for probably ten minutes to the melting of the ice caps and the drowning of Polar Bears.

(2.) I blog during work, not because I don’t respect my job but because I believe it keeps me sane.

(3.) I’m going to aerobics after work but only because it might help me lose weight and look attractive and NOT because it’s good for my health.

(4.) I didn’t know what a garlic press was until my friend Anne used one Friday night

(5.) which made me realize I’m really a grown up now, and I need to learn to do things like zest lemons and press garlic and make icing from scratch. It’s time.

(6.) I’m almost thirty and I keep wondering when my desire to stay out late with friends over cocktails will end, but so far it hasn’t.  I might be stuck forever around the age of 21.

(7.) I don’t use eye cream or special eye make up remover and often I forget to use any sort of facial cream at all, which has all led to

(8.) a new wrinkle cutting down my cheek, which startled me in the women’s room today and took up probably an hour of my thoughts throughout the day

(9.) when I probably should have been meeting any of a dozen different work deadlines, but, you know, I felt a little traumatized.

(10.) I drive a foreign-made car, which everybody around here refers to as a rice-burner, and I have trouble deciding where my loyalty should first rest – to my little family, with a car we can afford, or to Detroit and AMERICA, and I should trade my affordable car in for a Detroit model, or to the environment – my car gets amazing gas mileage –

(11.) I’m writing fiction and it worries me because it seems to be affecting my mood, it seems to take more out of me emotionally and physically than non-fiction does,

(12.) But I do NOT want to be one of those woe-is-me writers, always talking about her work, even though

(13.) it’s primarily what interests me right now, that and Jill Carrol’s 11 piece series on her kidnapping and torture that’s running in the local papers.

(14.) It’s taken me all summer to read War and Remembrance

(15.) I woke up tired this morning, but I never know if I’m supposed to listen to my body and rest or if I’m just being wimpy for no particular reason.

Okay, so, a bit of a lackluster post for the day, but fortunately there is time to redeem myself with a poem from a poet I went to school with, Jonathan Moody, who when he reads his poetry aloud proves time and time again that sometimes all we need is the marriage of rhythm and words to move this world forward.

BEYOND CHATANOOGA

                   I believe there are only two truly regal women
                    in this world, my mother and Bessie Smith.

                                   —The Prince of Wales

You don’t have to open
your mouth to let us know
you’re on stage. But tonight,
in Baltimore, you do, & for
that I’m grateful. Still singing,
you pull me from my seat,
grab me by the hand, &
walk backwards —staring
straight into my eyes.
I follow you, Bessie, the way
a worm follows a blue
goose, or the bed-sheet’s
lilting shadow. We dance
against canvas backdrops
of magnolia & incongruous
moons; our shoes, setting
fire to the ramshackle cabin.

This entry was posted in Hopelessly Indulgent Reflection, Top 100 Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Fifteen confessions in ten minutes, and maybe poem number six

  1. The cocktails: it doesn’t go away. This I can say from the ripe perspective of 37, having just got in from a night out with my girlfriends doing just that. I loved your post! And the poem is lovely too, especially the “magnolia & incongruous moons”.

  2. Dorothy W. says:

    I loved your post too! I like the 15 confessions idea.

  3. litlove says:

    I like the 15 confessions too! Not sure I’m quite as lucid about myself as you are, Courtney – I would probably slope off into random jottings about books I’d read. That’s all my blog is really! Nice thoughts about books to put off the work that needs to be done on myself…

  4. Charlotte – well, it’s good to know I have an answer regarding that concern :-). I feel sometimes like I should be much more grown up, drinking green tea and practicing zen meditation, but really, I still like to go out like I did when I was 18! I don’t know what that says about me!

    Dorothy – thanks so much – it’s sort of a spontaneous idea because what I intended to post just wasn’t working…

    Litlove – Thanks! I love your blog so much because it’s about the books you’ve read, but also about the thoughts they spur. You write about much more than books, you write about happiness and despair and the revolutionary power of French Literature – when I read your work I feel like I am truly learning something about the way the world works, and the human condition, and it makes me feel like a better person.

  5. kj says:

    This was great. I liked it. Seems like it is a great writing and thinking exercise…something I will have to try.

    P.S. Keep the rice burner.

  6. bloglily says:

    I agree, cocktails with friends need not and, as far as I can tell, does not end at 30. Your confessions amused and entertained, and for that your penance is probably … a cocktail! Your fiction writing sounds like it’s really making you go deep, which is a good thing, and not something you sound like you’re woe-is-me’ing about. (And thank you for the poem. it has a good rhythm.) xxoo, BL

  7. Make Tea Not War says:

    OMG- Charlotte and I are exactly the same age- 37. Litlove must be round there too…

    And it’s somewhat embarrassing how much I still love cocktails. I have martini glasses, and a cocktail shaker and even special little olive spikes. I keep waiting to grow up but it never happens

    You are really a fantastic writer btw. Your piece about being rejected was so very true. That feeling that in 3 months time you’d be better so rejection wouldn’t sting so much…I know the feeling exactly.

  8. LK says:

    OMG, #11. Totally relate.

    I’m over 40 (oh, I hate writing that), and still go out for drinks with friends. We call it therapy.

  9. Emily says:

    Want some company to help you feel better? Here you go:

    1. One day, maybe, I’ll relate my teenage angst story about something similar, only it was heat not air conditioning, and was much worse, because it involved a boy on whom I had a huge crush..
    2. I do this all the time, although it may be different, since I work from home and often find myself working at 10:00 p.m.
    3. I kid myself that I work out for health reasons, but it’s mostly for the same reasons you do.
    4. It was years before I figured out what cream of tartar was and where to find it in the grocery store.
    5. It you do even half the things that our society thinks you should do as a “grown up” you will become a very boring person. Fight I, and feed your imagination instead.
    6. It won’t. And if it does, there’s something wrong.
    7. What a bother!
    8. Oh, those damn wrinkles! Read Erma Bombeck (her last published book, I think) and what she has to say about wrinkles and a well-lived life. It will make you feel much better.
    9. Sometimes, some other things are more important than work deadlines.
    10. This is not a confession at all, and DO NOT SUCCOMB. Your planet depends on it. American companies know perfectly well how to make cars that are better for the environment, but they are driven by greed, and they use guilt (“you’re not buying American and supporting American workers”) as a tactic to entice consumers, in order to make as much money as they can. Chances are, your “foreign-made” car was manufactured in this country. This is truly a crisis situation (and I’m not kidding ). All the children you know and love right now will be suffering terribly in the future if we don’t start controlling it. Tell those who make fun of you, “Yeah? Well, I’m not a sucker for advertising.”
    11. There’d be something wrong with fiction if it didn’t affect your mood.
    12. Haven’t noticed that you do that. Will tell you if it becomes a problem.
    13. Bizarre and intriguing distractions are what make life interesting.
    14. Don’t ask me how long it took me to read Don Quixote (one of my all-time favorites). I probably set a world record.
    15. I always opt for listening to my body and resting.

  10. XRumer is the best program for advertisement!
    It’s have CAPTCHA recognizer, email verificator, and a lot of other functions…

    But. I forgot link to it 😦

    Can you give me link to the xrumer description? screenshots, etc.

    Thanks

  11. Good morning.

    On what a cursor given this forum works? Us would be desirable to make site about to cosmetics and to make for a WWW project a this script.

    How to do search of the necessary information?

    I am necessary wish to find http://auto.townusasite.com/lenz-auto-com.html
    but I am not able to do it.

    Very much I ask to help.

  12. SuigPaddids says:

    Hi
    Such girls function mainly sloppy photos of low distinction in their questionnaires.
    You can only analyse their faces on such photos, but you can state their sprightliness and surroundings,
    which they state with ludicrousness. They error the biggest area of the formal columns,
    but in the “hunger answers” they disparage something remarkable and way down belittling.
    Such girls look for secluded and feel affection for relationships. They are lascivious, understandable and they don’t coveted

    Russians ladies, ukrainian women and russian girls seeking men for wedlock

    G’fall

  13. Gaaga says:

    thanks for webmaster,
    good job. HellLabs Proxy Checker Pro

  14. kokoshak says:

    Предлагаем водительские удостоверения купить
    паспорт РФ а так же ксивы корочки МВД и ФСБ

  15. fullman says:

    he Aston Martin Rapide has had an uncertain life. It was first shown to the world back in 2006 at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit, since then it was put on hold by Ford (ex-owners of Aston) and then revived by David Richards (the head of the current consortium of owners).

    Its amazing to see that Aston Martin has truly hit a new level in every respect. The DBS we drove in Gaydon recently, made us all realize that the brand is now more than capable of taking on the Italians and Germans – and beating them senseless.

    Read more…

    Our spy photographer captured this Rapide mule undergoing winter testing in northern Scandinavia. Obviously the Rapide will look significantly different to the mule which is essentially a longer DB9. However it will share the DB9’s platform and V12 engine.

  16. scunctync says:

    Hi all!
    NICE SITE!

    Bye

  17. Velvet Deer Antler has long been known and used in traditional Oriental medicine as a powerful stimulant of sexual desire and stamina and general physical performance.
    Visit official website: enhancers herbal sexual

  18. envineblila says:

    Do you know if some company use the same marketing concept as Webkinz?

    I’m writing a few articles right now and want to get some info and opinions.

  19. StWhite says:

    Hi, folks
    For the latest study, it was
    The most common diseases associated with are chronic viral hepatitis, alcoholism, and ( scarring of the liver ). Moreover, chronic viral hepatitis is common in alcoholism, and both and alcoholism cause cirrhosis which usually precedes the development of cancer. Therefore, the contributions and interrelationships of , viral hepatitis, and cirrhosis in the development of liver cancer are complex. Despite the complexity, it is important to try to understand the contributions of each disease so that patients at highest risk for liver cancer can be targeted for . Theoretically, they also might be targeted with treatments that prevent the development of liver cancer, when such treatments are developed.
    A practical study published in October 2007 has extended important the latest about the homogeneity of liver cancer to chronic viral hepatitis, alcoholism, and cirrhosis. This is a manly study owing to it used the records of Swedish health registries to discern patients for inclusion in the study. The Swedish registries consist of cleverness on the entire society of Sweden. They are hefty and whole registries and dominion been in avail for multifarious age. In materiality, they posses provided a treasure of score about rife diseases.
    An analysis of the Swedish data demonstrated that among patients with alcoholism slick was slightly more than a coupled accrual in the risk of liver cancer in that compared with the general human relay. This insufficient development suggests that alcoholism alone is not strongly related to the development of liver cancer. On the other hand, patients who were alcoholics but also developed cirrhosis, presumably since a settlement of their alcoholism, had a 22 – commune aggrandizement in the risk of liver cancer in that compared with the general general public. Remarkably, the development of cirrhosis in alcoholics substantially increases the risk for liver cancer.
    Patients with chronic viral hepatitis had a 34 – district greater risk for liver cancer because compared with the general humans. Patients with both chronic viral hepatitis and cirrhosis, however, had a much greater burgeoning in the development of liver cancer – – 118 – district. ( Presumably, the cirrhosis was caused by the chronic hepatitis. ) Decidedly, the combination of chronic viral hepatitis and cirrhosis has a exact well-made association with the development of liver cancer. This association is much stronger than the association of the combination of alcoholism and cirrhosis with liver cancer. The stronger association with viral hepatitis than alcohol supports a greater role for the hepatitis viruses through compared with alcohol in promoting liver cancer.
    What can we conclude from this study ? Primeval, the risk of liver cancer is remarkably fresh in patients with chronic viral hepatitis and cirrhosis. The risk also is another in patients who are alcoholic and own cirrhosis, although the risk is less. Second, if we craving to substantially prevent the development of liver cancer, we duty spot patients before they evolve cirrhosis and accordingly prevent cirrhosis. Third, existing and newer techniques for liver cancer surveillance probably should be applied to all patients with both chronic viral hepatitis and cirrhosis and possibly to patients with both alcoholism and cirrhosis. Fourth,we need to develop better techniques for liver cancer surveillance. A satisfactory solution to the problem of liver cancer in chronic viral hepatitis and alcoholism will not be quick or easy.
    With all the best
    Steven

  20. Приветствую всех!
    У меня такой вопрос,кто что интересное подскажет буду признателен.
    Мы с друзьями собираемся поехать в круиз по просторам России и ближнего зарубежья месяца на два на своих машинах,но не как не можем согласовать маршрут,если у кого уже был опыт такого путешествия,может,что посоветуете.Девчонок с собой не берем,думаем,что во все городах России с этим не будет проблем,если у кого будут рекомендации и в вопросе отдыха с девушками тоже буду признателен.

    С уважением Сеньчик

  21. asdf says:

    AGGRESS AutoPost Test

Leave a Reply

