Sunday morning – final weekend post

Okay, so this weekend on this blog I managed to (a.) complain about my job, (b.) fail to successfully post a picture and (c.)– not much else. We’ll return to regularly scheduled program Monday. I have my writing group in a few hours and both pieces I read were amazing – I can’t believe how lucky I am to be a part of such an engaging writing group. Before that I think I’ll swing into Barnes and Noble and check out the sales, and after that I’ll grocery shop. Am pretty sure I’ll finish Ellen Foster today – it’s a quick and disturbing read and I disagree with its comparison to Catcher in the Rye. A Walk in the Woods makes me laugh out loud and I’m very happy it’s my nonfiction of the moment. Watched the movie “Garden State” yesterday which was sweet but a little overrated. Tonight I’m making my first provencal recipe – chicken with 50 cloves of garlic and baguette stuffing – can’t wait to see how it turns out. I’m moving forward in my quest feel grown up by the time I turn 30. This quest also includes ceasing to straighten my crazy curly hair and accept that I simply will never have long, flowing, straight tresses. No more products, no more flat iron, no more battles with the hair dryer in the morning! I’m going curly, and not going back

Except maybe for a special occasion.

I’ve been having trouble with wordpress this weekend, accessing my blog and other wordpress blogs…anybody else? Tomorrow the journaly-aspect of this blog will cease – tomorrow’s topic? Either the Dick Devos/Jennifer Granholm update or an essay I’ve titled Language as Dance. By the way, I have to admit DeVos has impressed me this weekend. First he calls out Bush for ignorning the recession in Michigan and on his failure to meet with the leaders of the auto industry, and then he refuses to back the bill that would  prohibit affirmitive action. It’s similar to having a crush on the most popular boy in school – you know it will never go anywhere and he’s just not right for you, but man, when he scores a touchdown at the Friday night football game, you can’t help but swoon.

This entry was posted in Hillary Watch, Hopelessly Indulgent Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday morning – final weekend post

  1. litlove says:

    Curly hair is good, Courtney – people pay large sums of money to achieve curls! Looking forward to hearing how the chicken turns out (50 cloves, wow!) and also your thoughts on the Kay Gibbons. I finished Charms for the Easy Life, too, and it was fast paced and good and intriguing in various ways.

  2. Emily says:

    I’ll trade my lanky, straight hair for you curls any day. And, if you’re taking requests, I’d like to read about the dance of language, please. Finally, if this comment actually goes through, I’m going to go back and re-comment on your confessional post.

  3. Dorothy W. says:

    I laughed at A Walk in the Woods too — Bryson is a fun writer. And I’m obsessed with the Appalachian Trail, so I love reading about it. Glad you are enjoying it!

  4. bloglily says:

    Ditto on Bill Bryson — he’s very funny. MMM. Chicken & garlic. I don’t see how that could be anything but really delish.

  5. Katie says:

    You crack me up about Dick DeVos. I never thought I’d hear you say it– but is your heart softening toward the guy? 🙂

    In other business, please pass along the chicken recipe so we can try it too!

  6. Litlove – the chicken actually turned out wonderfully – it tasted almost delicate. It’s going in the “for company” recipe box section – easy to put together and clean up after, it looks pretty and tastes great. As for Ellen Foster, I’m not sure I’ll blog about it but if not I’ll email you my thoughts or post them under your blog on CFTEL.

    Emily – you got it! Said ‘essay’, and I use that term very loosely, will be posted soon!

    Dorothy – A Walk in the Woods makes me want to walk t he trail! Apparently I’ll feel very differently in a few more chapters, though. I think I might be developing a minor obsession with it as well.

    Bloglily – As I noted to litlove, the recipe turned out beautifully! I served it with a spinach, avocado and goat cheese salad, and a small piece of baguette. Somebody out there I’m sure would know what wine to pair this meal with it, but we just drank cabernet.

    katie – I’ll email you the recipe this week – you and J. should definately try it out. And yes, I hate to admit it, I’m softening towards DeVos again. JUST WHEN I THINK I’M OUT, THEY PULL ME BACK IN….GLUG GLUG.

  7. kj says:

    You gotta go curly and stay curly…I remember all those years ago when we were young and all hormonal, simmering in a summer crush, and you had that curly hair…that’s one of the things I liked about you most and will never forget. When you had those curls a curling. Of course, there are plenty of other things, but always I will remember your curly hair.

  8. Kaye Gibbons says:

    Hi, I was looking up a potato salad recipe, saw your site, and wanted to add that I find myself agreeing with the Catcher in the Rye opinion— in an edited-out section of the sequel, I had Ellen imagine meeting Holden Caulfield and wanting to do a fairly thorough mind/body overhaul on his gloomy self. To her mind, you got two functioning parents and a marvelous means of support, you got a great deal of the stress of living lifted before you need to rise to shoulder the burden. Much love, many blessings in the new year….I’m finishing Great Expectations, an annual holiday read, and starting a strange and marvelous book called Stiff, about the fate of bodies, ghoulishly, grandly written….Hoping to finish writing a new novel, The Secret Devotions of Mary Magdelene, next week, about a woman/baker/functioning voluptuary/feminist in 19th century New Orleans. I enjoyed the posts, everything and everything in between….Pardon errors, clueless about how to edit in a post….Kaye

Leave a Reply

