Endings and Beginnings

S. and I both agreed yesterday that neither of us ever really hit a rhythm this autumn.  Usually fall ushers in very specific autumnal activities, like football games and pie-baking and long walks beneath blazing trees. This fall, whether because of my mid-October vacation or the freakishly cold weather or S.’s interviews with law firms, we failed to acknowledge the change of seasons, and suddenly the leaves are nearly gone, I can see my breath while I’m jogging, and both our parents called this weekend, wanting to know about our Christmas plans.

 

Somehow, I missed fall.

 

In an attempt to pull back for a moment and regain some lost footing, I spent much of the weekend completing things I started before my trip. I finished a dvd of “The Sopranos,” I finished cleaning and organizing my kitchen cupboards, and by the end of the night I hope to finish A Room With A View.  I also baked an apple pie, watched the Tigers lose the first game in the World Series, saw Marie Antoinette with A. and had lunch with AW. All in all, a perfect fall weekend, and this week I will be able to start new projects, including some writing for a new blog established by a group of wonderful women bloggers (more on this soon). Before all of this, though, I still need to complete a short story I’ve been working on and change over my wardrobe, so in the interest of expediency, today’s post will include not one but two memes. And please forgive the lack of links this evening – wordpress is acting oddly. Probably we’ll be lucky to have this post show up.

 

Five Things You Don’t Know About Me

 

This is from Charlotte, author of the beautiful Charlotte’s Web, which you can locate through my blogroll.

1. I weigh myself compulsively throughout the day, and I really, really need to stop. It isn’t healthy and I think I’ve broken another scale, unless it really is possible to gain 15 pounds in one day. S. is kind and assures me it is not.

2. I hate decorating my home, and spend absolutely no time doing so.  There are pictures S. and I unpacked two years ago that are still leaning up against the living room wall.  I don’t buy throw pillows or pretty blankets or nice hand-towels, and am, in fact, still using my Christmas potholders. Yes, I am that lazy.

3. I once won an award for my apple-pie recipe.

4. I will never, ever email or call you in order to tell you that I’m too busy to email you or call you.

5.  My proudest moment in Italy came when I found my way around Florence with a map – I’m notoriously bad with maps and directions, but I found European maps much more intuitive than those made in the US.

 

Emily’s Fictional Character Meme

 

Emily Barton came up with this meme. YOu can also locate her fantastic blog on my blogroll. Really, wordpress, what is up with the linkage situation?

 

Which fictional character frightens you the most? Mary Terror, from Robert McCammon’s novel Mine.  A woman scarred by the 1960’s who steals a baby and goes on a killing spree? And the opening scene has her melting doll faces against a stove? It doesn’t get any scarier than that, folks.

 

Which fictional parents do you most wish you had? I can’t remember any really wonderful fictional parents that I would want to actually raise me, even as a little girl.  If we can bridge into television momentarily, I used to want to be a member of the Keaton family from “Family Ties.”

 

Which fictional character has the most balls?  Lena Grove, from Faulkner’s Light in August.   Her search for the man who impregnanted her is one of the bravest journeys in American Literature.

 

To which fictional character’s house would you most like to be invited for dinner? Assuming it’s only for one evening, Dorian Gray. He surrounded himself with the wittiest folks around, and I think, for one evening, I could have had a really, really good time. Of course, I would take my chaperone.

If you could invite 3 fictional couples to your home for dinner, who would they be?Emily has by far the best answer to this question, including Adam and Eve and Rochester and Jane – I just can’t top that answer.  But if I were to, I guess Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy, because I like to be around true love, Jack McCall and Shylah, before her suicide, because I’d make them cook for me and because I think Shylah and I could have been very good friends (Beach Music), and Patrick and Angie from the Dennis Lehane mysteries, because they would have the best stories and could make all of us appreciate our own lives all the more.

 

Which fictional character could probably entice you into his/her bed? I used to dream about Mr. Darcy, seriously, have straight up dreams with plot and everything.  There would have been no contest.

 

Which fictional character would most likely have broken your heart?  All the emotionally distant but heartbreakingly handsome men who kept wives in their attics, both physical and metaphorical.

 

In which fictional character’s home would you most like to live?

 

Anne of Green Gables, bien sur!

 

 

This entry was posted in Everything In Between. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Endings and Beginnings

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on the new blog! I’m the same way about decorating — I do it once, all in a rush when I first move in, and then things stay the same for years and years and years.

  2. Funnily enough, I also nearly said Green Gables as my bucolic dream home … opted for something posher, for some reason. I too am not a decorator – I keep telling myself I’ll do it when the children are bigger and less likely to scrawl on things. We’re keeping it cheap and cheerful for now!

  3. Emily says:

    So happy to hear others aren’t into decorating. It’s why I don’t subscribe to things like Better Homes and Gardens where you get articles about families of four who happily renovated a crawl space, turning it into a beautifully-decorated living room of their dreams in one weekend together. They make me feel so guilty. I tend just to plop down furniture given to me by others and leave it at that. And I can’t read maps, either! Loved your answers to the meme.

  4. Dorothy – I definitely have some ideas rattling around in my brain for the new blog…am waiting for them to form a bit before I start writing.

    Charlotte – Cheap and cheerful is my motto, too! I love it! And it will come in handy if we have children any time soon!

    Emily – I know, those magazines make me feel terrible about myself as well. Hmm. Perhaps this could be a blog entry at whatwesaid…need to think more…Imean, how can I worry about decorating when there’s writing to do?

  5. litlove says:

    I associate Better Homes magazines with doctor’s waiting rooms. So, no joy there for me either! Great answers on the meme, Courtney, and looking forward to your posts on the new blog!

  6. Litlove – it must be that those of who write and read and dream simply choose to do so over decorating our homes and keeping them immaculate. After all, there really are only so many hours in a day!

  7. Carl V. says:

    So, how was Marie Antoinette?

  8. Carl V. says:

    And I read and dream and love decorating my home, love looking through BH&G, Pottery Barn, HOME, etc. to get decorating ideas. Just to throw my two cents in.

  9. Pingback: Fiction Meme | The Sheila Variations

Leave a Reply

