Life is great, God is good (2.)

in case you haven’t noticed, I’ve just been ever the slightest bit self-pitying lately, feeling sort of frustrated with work and S.’s schedule and the end of daylight savings time and…well, you get the picture, and I’ve taken some of that frustration out on this blog. Today, I felt a conglomeration of frustrations coming together, most a product of hormones but some legitimate irritations and as I drove from my office to the hospital I worked myself up into a justifiable fury, thinking about all the things I’d say to everybody, and I wasn’t going to be a doormat anymore!    After parking my car I walked into the hospital lobby and there was this old African American woman in a wheelchair, wrapped up in blankets, IV’s dripping sustenance into her veins, a scarf around her bare head, her eyes jaundiced, and she was eating a supersized Frosty from Wendy’s. She looked at me and smiled (I wear hospital identification) and I smiled back and she said “I just love these things,” and dug her spoon in more vigorously and I said “I love them too,” and she said “You have a God-blessed day.”

And all that other stuff – ALL that other stuff – just melted away, disappeared.  I don’t talk about religion or faith or anything too much, but here is one truth: I am quite blessed, and it would behoove me to remember it more often.

*This is the second NaBloPoMo post, and you’ll have to forgive me if I don’t respond to your comments as much as I usually do during this time – I’ll do the best I can and in December I’ll return to responding individually as much as possible – your comments are always read and greatly appreciated*

This entry was posted in The Private. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life is great, God is good (2.)

  1. bloglily says:

    I like that, “have a god blessed day.”

  2. Emily says:

    I seem to spend the majority of my days lately convinced they’re non-god-blessed ones, but that’s because, before now, I didn’t have this wonderful little story to visualize. I’m going to keep it in mind and hope all my ridiculous gripes melt a little, too.

  3. Katie says:

    Great post. I find myself driving home from work a lot of the time and thinking about the day’s stress or feeling sorry for myself or ungrateful for some reason. And ALWAYS on those days, I see the man who lives in my neighborhood who wears the Tigers jacket and walks his dog… happily… with a limp.

    At those moments, you’re right… I stop and forget all of the stupid things I was just worrying about. I am very blessed.

  4. litlove says:

    It’s a great reminder in times of whingeing that there is always someone so much worse off. I’ll try to carry that image with me today.

  5. Carl V. says:

    It is very easy to take our eyes off of our blessings, isn’t it. Thankfully these moments of clarity happen so that we can take a step back and be grateful.

  6. LK says:

    God bless that lady with the Wendy’s.

Leave a Reply

