Bad Poetry!(3.)

Start Time: 4:02 

Quiet Email

Too many emails make me angry,

but quiet email makes me nervous,

so attached am I to nearly instantaneous results.

No morning email from my husband?

Why certainly, he must be dead!

No funny jokes from friends?

They must all hate me now. I bet

they all skipped work, to talk about me.

No response from colleagues on work turned in?

I’m being fired,

finally recognized as the fraud I am.

Logic, reason, rational –

go out the window when my email quiets down,

so used am I to seeing that little, yellow

envelope flash throughout the day,

and in an instant I’m transported

back, once again the lonely girl

on the playground,

not invited to play kickball, Red Rover or

even house –

the degrees, the make up, the husband, the hair –

even the truth of my  happiness-

the things I swath around me,

to protect me from that other girl –

they fall away

every time I come to this moment –

all my work,  out in the world, and me –

in my office on the sixth floor,

looking out the window.

watching the second snowfall of the season,

awaiting that flashing yellow envelope

to tell me,

it’s okay.

I can stay and play a little while longer.

Finished: 4:15

This entry was posted in Your Love Is Like Bad Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bad Poetry!(3.)

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    I love your “bad” poetry — it’s never bad, in fact! I guess I like the idea of the fast writing AND I like your willingness to post it.

  2. Emily says:

    Not at all a “bad” poem. I can so relate! (Next you have to do one on blog comments. I bet a lot of us will be able to relate to that, too.)

  3. Kerryn says:

    Agreed — this is not a “bad” poem, at all. And like Emily, I can relate to this, perhaps all too much.

  4. bloglily says:

    How liberating it is to read your “bad” poetry which, as everyone else so correctly points out, isn’t bad at all. But it’s a real inspiration to get going with words and not worry too much about where they take you.

    I like that yellow envelope too.

Leave a Reply

