Gratuitous Keyword Placement (4.)

Please forgive the upcoming gratuitous keyword placement…

Jennifer Granholm. Dick DeVos. Debbie Stabenow. Mike Bouchard. Proposal 2. Proposal 3. Trash in Michigan. Abortion. Drilling beneath the Great Lakes. Jennifer Granhom. Dick DeVos.   Unions. Unions. Unions. Teacher Benefits. Granholm.

It’s no surprise, I’m sure, that I lean left, politically. It wouldn’t be remiss to refer to me as an ardent Democrat, a tree-hugging, bleeding heart liberal. Gay marriage? Absolutely, I’m all for it.  Abortion? An absolute necessity. And, while we’re at it, let’s protect the earth as much as we protect its citizens. Tax me up and down and all around and as long as that money goes towards those less fortunate than I, those who can’t feed or clothe or protect themselves, those who understand the meaning of the word suffering,well, -there but for the Grace of God go I.

My lefty tendencies are well-recognized amongst friends and family. Perhaps there were times when I took my dedication a little too fervently, like when I refused to speak to my brother during a holiday for referring to women in that horrible, deragatory term beginning with a ‘c,’ although that’s not really left or right but, in my mind, an issue of basic respect, but still, you see my point, surely – even my mailing address has been correctly sold, and I receive all the petitions in the mail appropriate to my core values – petitions advocating for stem cell research and aid for Darfur and the removal of toxic waste from local neighborhoods – it’s all spot on.

So imagine my surprise last night when I received a phone call from TEXAS (not Michigan, Texas) asking me to vote for DeVos! It was one of those automated messages informing me about all the horrible ills Granholm has visited on our state and how she has outsourced jobs and not protected jobs within our state…

do you see the irony? the call was from TEXAS. Not Michigan, Texas. It said so right on my caller ID. Well,  isn’t that a kind of outsourcing? Dick DeVos can obviously afford to have a national company make his campaign calls, and he doesn’t even choose a local company to do so? If we want to step this post up a notch to conspiracy theory levels, we could try and link him and this phone call with GW but I won’t go there so late on a Friday afternoon.

I think this one phone call

shoots the majority of his campaign right in the proverbial foot, which isn’t surprising since it came from Texas and all (I had to get one in) but really, DeVos, if you want the quote unquote Good People of Michigan to believe you’ll bring jobs to Michigan, you could start with those calling on behalf of your campaign.  Or at least be deceitful enough to find a way for a Michigan area code to pop up when  our phones ring. Hypocrisy in the form of a dinner-time phone call, interurrupting my spaghetti squash and “Friends” rerun, is just too much to take.

This entry was posted in You don't know Dick. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gratuitous Keyword Placement (4.)

  1. litlove says:

    I’m shamefully ignorant of American politics, but that kind of intrusive cold calling really gets up my nose anyway.

  2. Stefanie says:

    I’ve not gotten any phone calls from Texas, that I know of, but then I don’t have caller ID so I wouldn’t know. But just about every phone call I’ve gotten in a week has been a recorded political message. Driving me nuts. I’ll be glad when Tuesday has come and gone!

  3. bloglily says:

    I’m going to use litlove’s phrase today (“gets up my nose”) because it so beautifully captures all the irritating, nut-making, ickiness of the political season. But I have been noticing that DeVos is toast.

Leave a Reply

