On NaBloPoMo

It’s probably obvious to you by now that I am not going to make my goal of 30 posts in 30 days this month – I’m probably the first blogger (and perhaps the only one) to drop out of this challenge.  When I signed up for this challenge, I truly thought I would have the time and energy to commit to it.

It turns out, I totally don’t.

What’s more, I can’t even keep up with my favorite blogs because everybody is posting daily (or nearly daily) and I find myself desperately trying to keep up with blog reading and, well, what with books to read and my own writing to do and work and my upcoming literary conference and visiting my brother and meeting his girlfriend for the first time and a family weekend and Thanksgiving, well – it’s just not gonna happen. Plus I find myself blogging about things I should be journaling about instead and I don’t like that about myself.

So, I’m off to watch election coverage and read my favorite bloggers and I apologize for making a commitment I couldn’t keep. I kind of do that sometimes, but you should know it always comes from the heart.

Back to sporadic posting, per usual here at everythinginbetween.

This entry was posted in Everything In Between. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On NaBloPoMo

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    I’ll be happy to read you whenever you can post — however infrequently that might be 🙂 It makes sense to me to recognize that the daily posting isn’t working and to modify immediately. One of these days/months/years, I’m going to have to stop posting daily, I’m sure, and I’ll have to try to be honest with myself about when I need to stop.

  2. KJ says:

    Court,

    I feel your vibe. I have not been blogging as much as I had hoped I would – especially with it being autumn and all. Also, I have not been keeping up on reading blogs. Lots going on. Trying to get work done on the house when I get out of work. Got a dog and am trying to train her to be a nice house dog (what fun). And blah, blah, blah-friggidy-blah…

    Hope you are hanging in there. Keeping sane. This time of year can be rough on the mind, body, and spirit.

    Thinking of you…

  3. Kerryn says:

    For what it’s worth, there are quite a few bloggers who didn’t make it as far as you in this effort (I’ve spent some time browsing the list). And, honestly, if you feel that you’ve compromised something, anything, by taking on this challenge, your decision to go back to sporadic was probably the only right one for you.

    Looking forward to your more infrequent posting. :hugs:

  4. litlove says:

    I think blogging really works when the blogger is compelled to say something. That always makes for an exciting and gripping read. And it’s not going to happen every day. All you’re saying, Courtney, is that you want to keep up the quality of the site, and the quality of your life. How could that be anything other than perfectly ok?

  5. I’m struggling too. Well done to you for admitting to it, and committing to quality over quantity.

  6. Emily says:

    Ahh, finally someone who admits it’s hard to keep up with all the great blogs out there if EVERYone is blogging daily, especially if you’ve been busy trying to have an off-line life as well! I’ve been having a helluva time. Hope you’re feeling more relaxed after this decision. Oh, and GREAT news about DeVos. In fact, GREAT news all-around, huh?

  7. bloglily says:

    I don’t care how often you blog dear Courtney! I’ll take what I can get. And it IS hard to keep up with all the good stuff that’s out there, so really daily blogging might not be what’s needed right now.

    But isn’t it great how much of what we, as a country need, has just happened? And then Rumsfeld’s resignation this morning. A fine day indeed.

    And, inspired by you, I’m going to forgive myself for every single thing I’ve overcommitted to doing and not done and start fresh. I might even blog about that tomorrow — or the next day! How’s that for a catholic moment? xo, L

  8. LK says:

    I can’t do the NaNoWriMo thing either. What I’m doing is just taking a little step each day toward getting into a regular writing practice. The blog is a part of that, for me.

    Here’s a little ditty a friend once told me: Do your best and take a rest.

Leave a Reply

