A week of memes!

thanks to the industry and motivation of others, I have, for today’s post, a meme courtesty of the always achingly eloquent litlove, and at least two more are floating out in the blogosphere waiting for me to answer. What’s more, I have to reading challenges to join in and post about, and countless other topics rolling around in my head, should I get around to them. For now, though, I think this blog is deeply in need of Litlove’s inspirational meme. Here we go.

What part of the past would you bring back if you possibly could?

Summer vacations. My dad was a teacher and my mom didn’t work for many years and so we traveled a lot throughout the summer, visiting grandparents, going to our cabin, camping, etc.  With no parental work schedule during the summer our vacations were long and wide and deep and seemingly everlasting, filled with friends and family and cousins and parties.

 

 

What character trait would you alter if you could?

My oversensitivity. My feelings can be hurt really easily. So easily, in fact, that when it’s pointed out to me that I’m too sensitive, it hurts my feelings tremendously. 

 

Which skill would you like to have the time and energy to really work on?

My writing. I work on it almost every day, and my writing pays my bills, but I live in fear that I’ll never write with the same beauty or grace as my favorite authors, that I’ll just always be subpar.  For a while I stopped reading Rushdie because I realized no matter how much I worked I could never write like him. I’m over that now, and hoping to fall somewhere bet ween Rusdie and, say, Danielle Steele.

Are you money poor, love poor, time poor or freedom poor?

Time poor.  There are never enough hours in a day to accomplish the things I would like to accomplish.  The problem seems to worsen as I grow older, as well. I keep reprioritizing things I’d like to do – and balance what I’d like versus what I should do, if that makes sense.

 

What element of your partner’s character would you alter if you could?

S. is really, really, really into law school. I mean, really. It’s almost his only frame of reference anymore. I would love for him to have one outside hobby, biking or running or playing the guitar or something.  It frustrates me that he couldn’t ‘get into’ The Amazing Adventures of Cavalier and Clay (or was it just the adventures? I never get it right…) but loves to talk about law 1eb.3999957, on why people need to license their dogs, or whatever.

 

What three things are you going to do next year that you’ve been meaning to do for ages but never got around to?

Carry clementines and quarters to hand out to the homeless people around the building I work.

 

Read “The Enlightened Home” and try to reduce our family’s carbon footprint on the world.

 

Finish my novel.

If your fairy godmother gave you three wishes, what would you wish for?

Enough money to always be comfortable. I don’t believe lots of money buys happiness, but I do believe enough is important.

 

World peace.

 

that S. and I live a long, long happy life together and die together as if by some spiritual pact in our mid-nineties.

 

What one thing would you change about your living conditions?

I would like to add a study and a bathroom. It’s nearly perfect for us, except we need just a bit more space. Also, I’d move it from the suburbs to the city and make the inside look like a log cabin.

How could the quality of your free time be improved?

I need to cut myself more slack and allow time for sleeping in, movies and lazy afternoons reading. Whenever I give into one of those pleasures I always feel so guilty for doing so, and I need to recognize that downtime is as important as anything else I do.

What change have you made to your life recently that you’re most proud of?

Making long-term goals that require stick-to-itiveness – I’m so flighty that long-term goals have always been really difficult for me to achieve.

This entry was posted in Everything In Between. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A week of memes!

  1. bloglily says:

    Courtney, You’re such a love (as my mom would say). It’s hard to be a sensitive soul in a sea of lawyers — and even one lawyer constitutes a sea. (Believe me, I know whereof I speak. Or is that “ofwhere”?) Anyway, your summers sound so fabulous, it makes me want to change my life entirely to have some of that freedom. xo, BL

  2. Dorothy W. says:

    This is a fun meme — I do like finding out a bit about people’s lives.

  3. Stefanie says:

    Summer vacation seems to be the popular answer to number one. I said that too!

  4. litlove says:

    Courtney – what beautiful answers! I’m right alongside you trying to allow myself more down time. And you know, I like your writing much much more than Rushdie’s.

  5. rubyresearcharms says:

    I’m glad to hear you are over the not being a good enough writer bit…. I can’t help but compare myself to others either but man, it brings me down.

  6. Litlove – better than Rushdie? Wow. You are crazy. And I adore you for it!

    Ruby, I know, it’s hard to not compare ourselves to others, especially something as personal as writing. It’s a fine line between honest criticism and abuse…

  7. Stefanie…don’t know what it is about those summer vacations – it must be the complete freedom and indulgence they brought…

  8. Bloglily – 1 lawyer DOES seem like a sea, and so many of our friends are lawyers, paralegals, etc…but many of the rest are writers so it generally evens out.

    Dorothy – I think memes are fun too but they seem to go in waves and suddenly there are so many…

Leave a Reply

