Meme #2

I found this at the ever-literary kitten’s place,  but I think it originated elsewhere…I think perhaps Kate’s book blog, for which I don’t have the address readily handy…

1. How old were you when you learned to read and who taught you?
Gosh, I was young, very young. I remember watching my parents reading books without pictures and just totally unable to wait for the day when I could do so as well. I think I learned through a combination of my parents reading to me and self-teaching. I definitely knew by the time I got to school.
2. Did you own any books as a child? If so, what’s the first one that you remember owning? If not, do you recall any of the first titles that you borrowed from the library?
I don’t! I think ONE of the first books I owned was a compilation of ‘original’ fairy tales from Hans Christiaan Anderson, and that little ‘pat the bunny’ book that teaches you about textures.  But goodness, books surrounded me my whole life – it’s very difficult to remember any firsts with them. How odd!

3. What’s the first book that you bought with your own money?
Another toughy. Probably a Sweet Valley High book or a Babysitter’s Club book – something I desperately wanted to read but my parents thought trashy and so wouldn’t pay for it. 
4. Were you a re-reader as a child? If so, which book did you re-read most often?
I liked rereading certain parts of books. I think as a child, if you are a natural reader, books truly do become your friends, and diving into them over and over again provides a wonderful security.  The language and the story and the characters all provide a predictable comfort that is utterly paradoxical to growing up.
5. What’s the first adult book that captured your interest and how old were you when you read it?
Lace, probably – it was a big hit with all of us in the seventh grade, but mainly because of the sex scenes. It was a book we literally kept under our mattresess to hide from our parents. I think one copy was probably read by twenty of us.  Disregarding the trashier side of my nature, I would have to say probably Lonesome Dove. Oh, I fell in love with that book when I was thirteen!
6. Are there children’s books that you passed by as a child that you have learned to love as an adult? Which ones? 

You know, I’ve never thought of this before. But there are so many bloggers out there who read and write eloquently about children and young adult books that my interest is slightly ignited in returning to some books from my youth. I think I was so anxious to leave childhood books behind that I missed out many amazing reads.

 
Bonus Question: Are there books you remember reading as a child that you either can’t find now or can’t remember the title?

Not really.  But I’m quite sure that now that the question has been posed several will crop up.

* I’d like to take a moment to thank all of you amazing Meme creators out there. I’ve been ensconsed in grant-writing and grant-proofing (deadline this Friday) and without you I might have to resort to posting sections of said grant, or rundown on my meals. Instead I have these wonderful memes for the week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meme #2

  1. LK says:

    You know, I just got the most marvelous picture in my head of a 13-year-old girl enjoying Lonesome Dove! Terrific!

    You know, your litblog fans would read any grants you would post. So there.

  2. Heather says:

    The librarian in my home town used to help my dad load boxes full of books into our car we went so often. Enjoyed reading this meme!

  3. litlove says:

    Oh my, we all read Lace at school too!! that scene with the goldfish lived on in our imaginations for many years….

  4. Kerryn says:

    I loved what you wrote about re-reading books and certain passages. It’s something that I still do especially when everything is changing a little too quickly for my liking.

  5. Dorothy W. says:

    I agree with Kerryn — re-reading provided a lot of solace. I don’t re-read nearly as often now but I’m always tempted too when things aren’t going well.

Leave a Reply

