5 things you may not know about me

I like to save memes for days like today, when I want to blog but either my ideas seem too breezy (wrote a whole post in my head yesterday about my hair color while I was grocery shopping) or too serious (the situation in Iraq is just, is just…there are, no words) and I want to write but just don’t know what to share.  So, voila, a meme! I’m not sure where I saw this first but it’s been circulating for quite a while.

5 things you may not know about me

(1.)  I believe deeply in the power of the right drink at the right time – dark-roast coffee lightened with cream to start the day, lemon-ginger tea when you feel a cold coming on, frothy frozen coffee drinks on a hot summer day, water always to replenish, a properly poured glass of shiraz after a long, satisfying day, a properly poured vodka-martini after a long, unsatisfying and highly frustrating day, cappuccino at 3:00 on a sleepy afternoon, orange juice tempered with mineral water on Sunday mornings, etc. etc.  I drink tons of liquids of all types because I believe in their therapeutic effects, and the tone they can set for the day, and I believe certain drinks can fix bad moods, correct poor energy levels, prevent a cold, soften the effects of the flu and just make you happy to be around and alive in this world.

(2.) I’m easily overwhelmed by big concepts (hence why I’m not writing about Iraq this morning) and can easily succomb to despair – Iraq. Global warming. China shooting missiles. Darfur. The Congo.  Burn clinics in India.   I am a voracious news-reader but often find myself feeling completely overwhelmed by the length and breadth of desperate circumstances that make up the world we live in.  My dad and I will have long conversations about such subjects but I never really feel much better – it would not be an understatement to say I sort of expect to witness the end of the world because I just can’t fathom how things can keep going the way they are an end with any sort of just result, and yet I also realize our world has been at war for much longer than I’ve been alive.  And I want to do something about all of this, but I don’t know where to start, which belief to start volunteering for, and…here I go, overwhelming myself.  All of this leads to #3, which is my embarrassing adoration for…

(3.) What my brother calls old-white-man rock and roll. Eric Clapton, Sonny Landreth, John Hiatt, Jimmy Buffett, Tom Petty – I could go on and on but I won’t.  I don’t listen to hip music or “in” music or current music. Instead, I have a vast collection of old-white-man rock (although many of the artists aren’t white, but my brother said the people who listen to them are, and if you want to know who is in my c.d. player right now, it’s Bruce Hornsby) – this music makes me feel better, and settles my anxiety into a sort of “smoke ’em if you’ve got ’em” approach to life, wherein I recognize I’d better just enjoy every day I’m allowed and not worry too much about the future, because carpe diem, etcetera and etcetera.  Every once in a while I like to think my approach to life is kind of like, “Life’s short – Let’s rock!” but really, it isn’t.

(4.) I don’t take vitamins or supplements and I avoid antibiotics as much as possible.  I didn’t get a flu shot this year, either.   I don’t believe in the benefits of any of the above and believe they possess a ton of inherent dangers none of us can fathom. At the same time, I used to smoke cigarettes and I still drink alchohal so I’m sort of a hypocrite. I’ve developed my own approach to feeding and caring for myself, and it is an odd-ball combination of avoiding as many processed foods as possible but still eating meat, exercising whenever possible and paying entirely too much attention to the way my body reacts to the food I put into it.  I’m easily susceptible to the odd rashes and headaches, things of that sort.

(5.) I have an half-assed theory that loneliness is the greatest motivation for human behavior, and it is this theory I’m using to motivate the charactes in my novel.  I think loneliness comes in a million different forms, and I know I am saddest when I feel lonely and isolated from other people – it is what leads to any despair I ever experience.  Sometimes all I need to see is a child playing alone in a backyard and I’m overwhelmed with sadness on behalf of the child, even if the child is perfectly happy.

So I think this meme is actually 10 things you may not know about me, but for today these five will have to do.  We’ll save the next 5 for another day. Tomorrow is Blog for Choice day, and I’ll be blogging over at http://www.whatwesaid.wordpress.com – I hope to see many of my  co-authors over there as well.

This entry was posted in Meme madness. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5 things you may not know about me

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    I enjoyed reading your answers! I think now would be the perfect time for a cappucino … I’ll look forward to your post tomorrow.

  2. Andi says:

    What a loverly post! I’m also a fan of the right drink at the right time, and was ruminating on the topic today as I sipped a Dolce Latte at Starbucks.

    As for old white guy rock, I’m right there with ya. Love Hornsby, Clapton, Hiatt, Petty, etc. In fact, I’m on a hunt for “My Old Friend” right now because I love that song and can’t find the mix CD it’s on.

    As for world events, I get just as overwhelmed. I expect us to all end up like the sad father and son in Cormac McCarthy’s new novel, The Road. Alone in a world of ash, scavenging for food, and losing. But we’ll see. I’ll be rockin’ out in the meantime.

  3. litlove says:

    Oohh so interesting. I’m very intrigued by your theory about loneliness, and I think you might have a good thing going there. If you ask me (here we go) I reckon you could separate out a lot of the schools and theotetical influences on literature into movements concerning either alienation or collaboration. I agree with you also about antibiotics. I had once pinned my hope on vitamin supplements, but ssadly, you are probably right there too. Nothing beats whole foods.

  4. Dorothy – it’s always the right time for a cappuccino!

    Andi – is it possible to email music? I don’t think so but I’m not sure. I have My Old Friend. If you cant’ find it I could always burn it and put it in the mail for you – just let me know!

    Litlove – Hmm, alienation or collaboration. YOu are one of the few people who inspire me to return to school!

  5. Stefanie says:

    You’ve made me suddenly want a soy mocha. I’m with you on the white guy rock, Eric Clapton and Rod Stewart and all the rest. And I find your theory in #5 interesting

  6. Emily says:

    There’s a great book we picked up a few years back called TONICS that definitely backs up your theory about drinks. I guess I’m an old white man.

  7. Kelly says:

    Dorothy,

    Not to be pushy, since I don’t know you, but just an FYI.

    You can email songs. IT’s hard to email a whole cd, but you can attach serveral songs in each email.

    Kelly

Leave a Reply

