Can I buy a vowel, please?

This weekend is dedicated to homecoming at the university where S. works, and I hope to write much more about this later – it’s really incredible, this thriving Jesuit university in the heart of a flailing city – the energy here today is just incredible. Right now S. is in the gymnasium trying to concoct an award-winning chili (this from a man who actually doesn’t like chili at all) and I am in his office trying to catch up on a bit of reading for my workshop before going down to mingle (ie, schmooze) and I wanted to keep up with my now semi-regular posting schedule so I thought I’d tell you all real quickly about the weirdest dream I had –

Last night I dreamt I was dating Pat Sajak (sp?) – you know, he of Wheel of Fortune Fame! It was just so incredibly bizarre – I don’t think I’ve thought of that television show and especially that host in years! We were really, really in love and he took me to a horrible production of Les Miserable and people kept coming up to us, asking if they could buy vowels and shouting out catch phrases like “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!” All I wanted to do was be alone with Pat Sajak because, people, I was smitten, you see, but we were continually interrupted.  When I woke up this morning I shared the dream with S. and he comforted me, all it was just a dream and you aren’t with Pat Sajak, it’s all going to be okay, missing a bit the mood of the dream, which was actually quite lovely.

Anyway.  It’s time to go stuff the ballets for my husband’s chili! And, in stark contrast to last weekend, this weekend the food is all-American college fare, hotdogs and sausages and french fries and beer – hazaa.

This entry was posted in Detroit Rock City, Everything In Between, Hopelessly Indulgent Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can I buy a vowel, please?

  1. BikeProf says:

    Pat Sajak? How very…unusual. My best friend in high school was a dead ringer for Pat Sajak, actually. We used to tease him about it mercilessly: “Hey, Pat! Where’s Vanna?” He had never watched Wheel, so he didn’t know. One day he came to school, looking as if he had gone through the dark side and had barely made it back into the light. We asked what was wrong. “I saw that show,” he said. “And you’re right–I do look like him!”

  2. Andi says:

    Pat Sajak! That’s classic. Almost as fantabulous as the time my friend dreamt that Patrick Stewart was God, and he wore a translucent jumpsuit on a big mattress in the sky. 😀

  3. Emily says:

    Well, that beats any of the dreams I’ve had of late.

Leave a Reply

