The birth of an idea

don’t you love this moment?

the moment the idea comes, but the realities of the work ahead of you haven’t?

Today I had an idea for a book, a nonfiction book, my first real nonfiction idea in, well, a while.  Just two weeks ago I told my writing group I thought I’d be writing fiction the rest of my life after finishing my MFA manuscript I have no ideas left.

Kindly, members said, you just need to live a little more.

Ha! I guess not.  I guess I am one mad, idea generating machine.

Who knows. Maybe nothing will come of this latest idea. But I do know my gut tells me to pursue it, that it could be something really great.

I love this place. I love it, I love it, I love it.

I am starting my book proposal tomorrow.

This entry was posted in The Private, Time for a Hundred Visions and Revisions. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The birth of an idea

  1. yogamum says:

    Awesome! Have fun with it!

  2. Good for you, Courtney. I have a vision of ideas swirling around you in a cloud.

  3. Kerryn says:

    Ooh, that moment when everything is possible and nothing can hold you back. Run with that feeling and enjoy it!

  4. Thanks all of you! I woke up early to begin and it felt amazing….love it when the ideas are all free and loose and don’t need any direction or strucure!

  5. Dorothy W. says:

    That’s great — it sounds like a wonderful place to be!

  6. Emily says:

    Oh, yes. I just love the birth of an idea. What I sometimes love even better is birthing it and then being able to hand it over to an expert to raise (as in, “I’ve got this great idea for a book I want you to write”).

  7. Chaser says:

    Awesome!! Congrats!

  8. nova says:

    How incredibly exciting! That is always the best moment ever.

  9. Stefanie says:

    Woo! Can’t wait to hear more about it 🙂

  10. Andi says:

    I had an idea for a non-fiction book last week!!! I do love that very special, thrilling “idea place” where the possibilities seem limitless.

    Enjoy!

  11. bloglily says:

    This sounds very exciting! I’m so glad to hear you’re in a good writing place. xo

Leave a Reply

