Book Talk Brain Dump

Every time I think I’m getting in a rhythm with my blogging, I’m thrown a curve-ball. I had the best of intentions to blog over the weekend but various and sundry plans kept me away from home for most of it, and then yesterday I locked myself out of the house after I left for a run (and note, I will never ever every complain about cell phones ever again, ever.  I didn’t have mine but I borrowed a neighbors and I called A. who immediately answered and thus brought me my extra key.  I heart cell phones. I would marry one if I could) and by the time I got in the house I was in NO MOOD.

Ah, well.

I finished Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert and I loved it! At first I was a bit put off by the narrator…I found her overly conscious of being a ‘writer’ and I thought she spent too much time telling us what would not be in the book. I also wasn’t sure how I felt about her search for spirituality but by the time she finished her four months in Italy and moved to India I was hooked into her journey completely.   She has an easy-going, enjoyable voice and her examinations and discussions on spirituality and God probably echo a lot what people are looking for these days.   I especially liked the ending.  It would have been so easy for her to manufacture some way to exemplify her independence, but instead she admits her need and desire for human companionship.  I thought I’d put a few passages when reviewing but I had so many favorite moments choosing would be impossible.  It’s just a good book – nothing more, nothing less.  It probably won’t change your life but reading about Gilbert’s struggle did feel like it had that element of the universal to it.

Currently I’m  reading Nature Girl by Carl Hiassan and Julie and Julia by Julie Powell.  The Hiassan basically speaks for itself and I may write more later, depending.  I’m also really digging Julie and Julia – I find Julie’s voice and honesty refreshing.  Maybe because I, too, am turning 30 soon.  While I don’t have similar struggles, I think her honesty about her marriage and her feeling for Eric are the best part about the book.  I’m not a huge fan of her imagined scenes between Julia Child and her husband, but it’s very creative nonfictiony of her and my professors would probably call her daring, and willing to take chances.

Upcoming reading plans: Since I decided to join the litbloggers in reading Don Quixote over the summer, I’ve decided I must finish Anna Karenina. I can’t have two huge books like that hanging over my head, so once I finish my current reading I plan to fall into AK.  I’ve also foolishly signed up for Carl’s  Fantasy Reading challenge.  I’m not sure what quest I’m going to do yet but I plan on rereading The Talisman, reading Maxine Hong Kingston’s The Fifth Book of Peace, which I think fits in with the mythology portion, and something by both Orson Scott Card and Dan Simmons (E. Dan Simmons?) – any suggestions by the latter two authors would be appreciated! I love that Carl (and Carl, by the way, if you are reading this – whenenver I try to post on your blog I am spam blocked, just fyi) is capping off this adventure with a reading of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, but having read it often for college and performing monologues from it and seeing various actor friends in I just don’t have the desire to read it yet again.  Although I do think it would be neat for those of us with the ability to do podcasts to take different portions of the play and read them and post them on our blogs? Maybe?

I have so many books to read. SO MANY. I’ve been buying books again and spending time in used book stores and the library – I’m in a big reading cycle, and while I know a lot of people prefer winter for reading, for curling under blankets with tea and cake, I am a summer reader all the way. I like nothing better than staying up late with the windows open, warm air blowing through, wearing pretty summer pajamas and eating ice cream, the sounds of a summer evening keeping me company.  I love summer reading.

With all of that said, I’m thinking of running my own little challenge in August or September.  I’ve seen several bloggers lament that they never, ever read plays, and I thought it would be fun to have a mini-challenge where we read a play or two and discuss it, or them.  I’m not fully sure about how to do this yet, but I’m thinking sometime after Don Quixote and before the notorious fall reading challenges start. 

I think that’s it from the reading front.  Now I’m off to read more blogs where inevitably I will want to read more books…

This entry was posted in On the Nightstand. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Book Talk Brain Dump

  1. yogamum says:

    I really enjoyed “Eat Pray Love” — it made me want to run off for a year to “find myself.” Maybe after the kids leave home…

  2. Dorothy W. says:

    I’m excited to read Eat, Pray, Love (I’m hoping to get a copy from Book Mooch, although I may have to break down and buy it) — I think it’s a book I’ll like. And about plays, I’d consider joining you, although I’ve been known to join reading groups and challenges and then not do the reading — but I do want to read more plays.

  3. Kerryn says:

    I’m resisting the urge to put Eat, Pray, Love on reserve at the library even though you make it sound like something that I need to read, right now. Like you I have too, too many books waiting to be read. I’m heading into my favourite time of the year to read — Autumn going into Winter, outside on the balcony, wrapped in a warm, woollen shawl and with a big mug of coffee at hand. Something about the cold air is invigorating and stimulates my reading “gland”.

  4. Emily says:

    I always thought you might like Julie and Julia (most especially for her descriptions of married life. She reminds me of you and S. or you and S. remind me of Eric and her). I will join you for a play-reading challenge. And when she’s really funny, she’s REALLY funny, just like you.

  5. Cam says:

    I like the idea of a play-reading bloggy gathering.

    I’m about 1/2 way through Julie & Julia. Initially I was a little disappointed, but I’m not sure why. Parts of it did have me laughing. I need to finish it & decide what I really think of it.

  6. Andi says:

    OK, you hooked me with this:

    “It would have been so easy for her to manufacture some way to exemplify her independence, but instead she admits her need and desire for human companionship. ”

    That rattles my head at the moment, so perhaps I should pick up the book and try it myself. Nothing like identifying with reading I always say. 🙂

    Enjoy Don Quixote. You’re a braver soul than I. Even if it is Paul Auster’s favorite book, I just can’t do it.

  7. Yogamum – yes, she really does glorify the whole finding-yourself-thing. I was a bit jealous, but I’m also thankful I don’t spend my nights crying on the bathroom floor…
    Dorothy – once my friend finishes reading it I’ll put it up on Bookmooch, so if you can hold on a few more months it will be up there!
    Emily – thanks so much! She really is more honest about marriage than most authors I read…I think it’s the young-marriage thing.
    Cam – I can understand being disappointed by it. There’s been so much hype around it, I’m surprised I’m not disappointed. I guess it’s so different than what I expected, so that helps.
    Andi, I’ve been meaning to tell you I have an Auster book checked out from the library at the moment! It’s next on my list to finish BEFORE returning to AK. Eat Pray Love is good. You should read it 🙂

  8. Yes to the play-reading! I like the idea of reading something shortish for a group challenge. I’ve heard from other friends that Eat, Pray, Love is wonderful – I must get my hands on it. Glad to to hear you’re enjoying J&J. I thought it was a lot of fun.

  9. Andi says:

    Now I HAVE to ask…which Auster is it? 😀

Leave a Reply

