Notes on reading from your friendly neighborhood cancer writer

So, you know how I promised (and then took back) a review of Kem Nunn’s Tijuana Straits? Well, I have yet to finish it, which is quite in line with the way my reading has been going, as of late.

Oh, the dermatologist appointment went well. The doctor gave me a cream for my rash which is not caused, as it turns out, by soy, but just happens to be a bit of hereditary grossness passed from generation to oddball generation in my family.  “It’s persistant and will return, but it’s utterly benign,” my soft-spoken, ridiculously handsome dermatologist told me.  “But, and I can’t emphasize this enough, STOP TAKING IT IF YOU BECOME PREGNANT. IT IS NOT GOOD FOR THE BABY. IT IS TOXIC.”  I’m sure you all are thinking with my high-horse attitude towards vitamins, cholesteral drugs and all things created in a lab that I turned my nose up at the cream, content to hang out with my benign rash, shunning the medical community, but you would be wrong because it turns out when vanity and principles clash I choose vanity, and I’ve been happily spreading this cream on twice a day with no second thoughts. It should start working in six weeks. I will inform you as to its results.

This post is disgusting.

Can you tell I haven’t been reading? As it turns out this year hasn’t been very conducive to reading. I’m productive in other areas – I’m writing, I’m running, I’m cooking and spending time with family and friends, but no matter what I do I can’t seem to get in  bed before 10:00 at night and then I read a few pages before falling asleep. I am not making substantive progress on anything, and this…this FAILURE to read comes when I agreed to reading challenges, like the Once Upon a Time Challenge and Don Quixote and well, my friends, I fear I’m failing you – I simply can’t complete these challenges.

I mean, after all, I’m plagued by this rash that is LIVING ON MY SKIN  and…

okay, enough excuses.  This, year, it seems, is for other things. I respectfully withdraw all entries into reading challenges and I will reexamine this decision in 2008. Maybe by then I will have learned how to upload pictures so I can decorate my blog with book challenge buttons. I so love the idea of completing a reading challenge someday, I have to believe it will happen.

So my reading status is pretty nil right now.  I finished Surprised by Joy but I’m saving that for my post (s?) on faith.  I’m finding I’ll have a lot to post on Tijuana Straits but who knows when I’ll finish it.  Anna Karenina  – well really, there are no words.  I will have spent six months with this novel, which is embarrassing. I will say though I can remember every little thing about it – that reading in this slow manner has allowed for a wonderful level of comprehension. I’m sort of a fan.

Okay, so, PSA #2 for the week – if you haven’t done so in your lifetime, go get what dermatologists call a “skin check.” Sure, it’s uncomfortable having a doctor peer between your toes and study your backside like s/he’s cramming for a final exam, but skin cancer is often utterly treatable and passing over the inspection of your moles to a professional is worth your time and money. In retrospect, I should have taken a video of my exam with my cell phone, downloaded it onto YouTube, and posted it here, like Katie Couric with her colonoscopies…you could have seen (a.) how unscary a skin check is, (b.) how hot my doctor was, and (c.) how great my hair looked yesterday.

Do you ever have a day at work where you work and work but nothing gets done and all the while you are bored even though any other day you would be really invested? I’m having one of those days today – no matter how much I do I don’t make any progress, it’s like that dude from the myth where he pushes the rock up hill and it rolls back down…

On Friday my post will be a PSA #3 and a link to another website I’ve created to raise money for cancer research, just in case you want to skip that day – on the one hand, it’s embarrassing to ask for donations, for anything, but when your job requires you to it becomes suddenly infinitely easier and I ended up pouring a lot of time and passion into my website which surprised me most especially.

And, you know, I apologize for the sorry content of this post.

This entry was posted in Do I Dare to Eat A Peach, Everything In Between, The Public. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Notes on reading from your friendly neighborhood cancer writer

  1. Glad to hear that the horribleness of your rash was offset by the hotness of your dermatologist and the loveliness of your hair. Don’t worry about the reading – I think it’s great that all the other important parts of your life have fallen into place. The reading will follow when time allows.

  2. Katie says:

    Don’t be embarrassed to ask for donations for the cancer walk! If people don’t want to donate, they don’t have to. But I’m sure many will.

  3. yogamum says:

    I haven’t been reading as much, either! But still, I think you and I are both reading more than the average person, so that’s something, right?

  4. Charlotte – I do think you are right…the reading will fall into place when it’s meant to. Still, it’s disconcerting in the mean time!

    Katie, there should be an email in your inbox as I type this!

    Yogamum – that’s what I like to hear – it makes me feel immensely better. Thank you!

  5. Stefanie says:

    Sometimes giving in to vanity is ok.

  6. LK says:

    Oh, bloody effing hell on skin rashes! I am suffering a couple of disgusting perimenopause curses; namely, bunions and ear exema. I mean: really! I can’t garner sympathy from these minor minor problems, and I can’t really whine about them, except anonymously of course, because they are conditions that no one really wants to share and/or know about.

    Oh, thanks for letting me get all that out.

    I feel better.

    Take care, Court…

  7. litlove says:

    I often get stress rashes, so you have my every sympathy. What’s more they always appear when it gets hot, so there I am, trying to find long sleeved tops and trousers whilst the rest of the world dons a bikini. Very tedious. I also don’t think I’ve had a good reading year so far, and I am still on a Tolstoy break!!

  8. Emily says:

    I would gladly swap my “year-of-basically-nothing-but-reading” if it meant I’d be writing and cooking more, neither of which I’ve been as much inspired to do this year as I have been in other years. Good for you. However, you can keep the running. I’ve decided not to fight the inner-walker in me anymore, forcing her to run and do other things she hates, which I suppose is progress of a different sort.

  9. Stephanie – absolutely. Especially regarding a disgusting rash, LOL.

    LK – Anytime you want to vent about skin rashes you come right on over…it’s one thing I am ALL to familiar with. I once made my brother take me to the emergency room because of one.

    Litlove – mine often come with the heat, too. This one, though, was sort of a year round situation…it’s already half gone with the ointment, though!

    Emily, one should never ever workout doing something they hate, of that I am totally convinced. I refuse to ride a stationary bike or go through spinning or step classes!

  10. Andi says:

    Wow, it seems I’ve missed some excitement in my efforts to get settled here at my new homestead. Glad to hear that the rash is on the outs, and I do sympathize with your lack of reading. I’m reading steadily but slowwwwly. Lord knowns I won’t meet any sort of goal this year, and I’ve given up on challenges completely. Oh well!

Leave a Reply

