Why can’t I keep these posts short??

Really, why? I PROMISED myself I would keep these posts brief and yet each time I come to my blog I find myself going on and on. I don’t think I’ve written a short blog post, ever. Ah well.  It’s my party and I’ll pontificate if I want to.

A-hem.

According to S., after yesterday’s blog, I do NOT do the following:

throw anything away, ever, including but not limited to the tags on my dry cleaning, the envelopes bills arrive in, makeup packaging, tissues and socks that will never find their mates. I do, however, throw food away much too quickly, because of an irrational fear of botulism.

put towels away after I showered, but rather throw them carelessly on the bed, causing disconcerting damp spots,

worry my own pretty little head about stains on the carpeting, decorating the house or generally cleaning up the trail of things I leave behind as I go about my day.

All of which is completely true. 

Friends – I wanted to be able to continue these posts all week, I really did.  It’s not that I’ve run out of ideas; on the contrary, the more I write, the more I realize how much more I have to share on this subject, and how very forward I am to other bloggers joining in this conversation. But other blog posts have been tugging at me, and my work hours are long and right now, grow longer. I am not feeling my best intellectually with all I have to give to my job, and I am not giving my best to these blog posts, which demand care and thoughtfullness in ways that memes and discussions about what color I should order my new winter coat in (me: camel, S. navy, my mom, black) – so I am sorry. I will continue to blog but the rest of the marriage posts are going to have to come later – I need some lighter far between now and October 1, when all of my grants are due and both my hours and my anxiety level return to something resembling normal.  I’m sorry I made a promise I couldn’t keep – I honestly did not imagine thirteen researchers requesting my services for grants this week, but that is what has occurred, and I have to launch the hospital magazine and do media strategy meetings for the annual conferences and, well – I’m pooped. I think this space is going to wallow is shallowness for a while – I’ll return to this subject, or point you in the direction of other bloggers who take it up, in the future.

Now. Seriously. Camel, Navy, or black? Camel, navy, or black?

This entry was posted in Everything In Between, The Private. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why can’t I keep these posts short??

  1. Andi says:

    Camel!!! And we, your devoted fans, certainly understand that you’re pooped and overburdened at work. So I say wallow around and enjoy your free time when you can find it, and bring us the marriage posts later. I know I’ll be ready and willing to take notes.

  2. Kerryn says:

    Another vote for camel here. Life sometimes has a way of demanding we focus on something other than what we want to do and you just have to concede to the demands. I’ll definitely stick around, whether you “pontificate” (it’s your blog, pontificate away) or plunge into the shallows. We, your devoted fans, are nothing if not understanding.

    On another note, when D moved in with me he had me declutter my “spare” room which was, in actuality, the repository for every paper I’d ever written, every magazine, every bit of anything I found fascinating or interesting or possibly useful in the future. He still has to work to convince me that I don’t need any of it.

  3. Dorothy W. says:

    That’s totally fine! We’ll still be here when you get back to the marriage posts.

  4. I’m also buying a new winter coat this year and am thinking of going wild with colour, say, raspberry or lavender …

    But I also put my vote with camel. So classic, good with everything.

  5. Courtney says:

    Andi, my devoted fans? LOL – I love it! I think I’m definitely going to order the camel.

    Dorothy – thank you!

    Yogamum – that seems to be the consensus.

    Charlotte – my last coat was red and I loved it – wore it for I think five winters? Maybe four. It’s always fun to get a jazzy color, but I loved my red coat so much I fear nothing could take its place!

  6. Becky says:

    Camel! And I’ve been enjoying your marriage posts but am certainly happy to wait for more.

  7. auntjone says:

    Oh crap, I was going to toss a vote for Navy but I guess it is too late. Black is over done, and if I had a Camel coat it would be filthy in a week, for sure.

    Good luck with your mountain of work. I look forward to your remaining thoughts on marriage. Your posts are always entertaining and thought provoking.

  8. Stefanie says:

    My winter coat is camel. My husband’s is dark green. Camel shows the dirt really fast, especially if you are short like me and have to lay across your car to reach the snow in the middle of it. I sort of wish my coat were dark green like my hisband’s.

  9. Smithereens says:

    If you already wear a lot of camel, then black. If you wear a lot of black, then camel. Anyway the combination is very nice.

  10. nova says:

    I always go with black, but that’s just me.

    And I’ll be waiting here for when you have more time!

Leave a Reply

