NaNoWriMo/NaBloPoMo/AWP/Coronado -RIP #2/I hate my graphic designer

and how are you?

I thought I would give you a quick Wednesday run down of where things stand with everythinginbetween. So, first of all, #1:

despite lovely invitations from the incredibly talented Charlotte and Kerryn I am not participating in National Blog Posting Month. To be honest, I didn’t even consider it because last year I tried and I think I pooped out on day two or three. Reader, I am incapable of blogging every day. I am barely capable of blogging more than twice a week.  I don’t know why it is – I have tried other patterns, to blog more frequently, but I simply can’t maintain them for any serious length of t ime. I DID consider suspending everythinginbetween for the month and highlighting all the other AMAZING blogs that WILL be participating, thus giving them more attention from me than they would normally receive and pointing your directiont towards them. I thought – heck – then I could participate in National Novel Writing Month, but despite the success of some of my friends last year, I’m in a good rhythm with my novel currently and I have three trips planned for November alone, so, reader,

#2 I won’t be participating in NaNoWriMo either – why mess with my current mojo? I have decided, however, to take Charlotte’s lead with her Tales from the Web and so for each Friday during the month of November I will feature 10 – 15 of my favorite posts from those participating in NaBloPoMo. I hope to then parlay this into a regular feature sharing blog love as so many of you give so much love and support to me.

#3 – I wasn’t going to AWP this year. I wasn’t,  I wasn’t – until Nova pointed out how amazing it’s going to be. John Irving? Charles Simic? Joyce Carol Oates? Are you freaking kidding me? And to top it off, New York City? I am going. S. is probably going to come too, for vacation, not for the conference. So, who else will be attending? This will be my fourth time attending and it is always, always worth it. Surely some of you out in the blog world will be attending as well?

#4 – My review of Coronado is coming up Friday. It is not good, so for those of you of the “If you can’t say anything nice” camp you might not want to check in on Friday. It looks like I will finish 3 out of 4 of my RIP reads, and possibly all 4 I really haul booty. We shall see – I need to finish Lolita for my writing workshop as well.

#5 – I hate the design company I’m using for work.  This is the first time I’ve really had a guy truly bully me in the workplace, and I don’t know how to handle it. I don’t know how to be professional with someone bullying me. I want to call him a dick, but something tells me that wouldn’t get me very far. I sort of want to cry, but that’s so wimpy. I am so exceedingly frustrated with this project I just want to call it quits altogether, but of course I can’t do that, either. I am sure it will be better tomorrow.

For now I have to go read another proof of a project that should have been completed months ago. Five o’clock and my hour on the elliptical trainer can’t come quickly enough!

This entry was posted in Everything In Between. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to NaNoWriMo/NaBloPoMo/AWP/Coronado -RIP #2/I hate my graphic designer

  1. Emily says:

    Oh good, someone else who is realizing that NaBloPoMo is beyond her capabilities. We can virtually sip tea together and visit with all those who manage to do it and still remain sane (I wouldn’t, I’m sure, if I tried, despite the fact that when I first started blogging, I started by blogging every day. But that was well before I’d discovered all these other great blogs that needed reading).

  2. Make Tea Not War says:

    Me three on the not signing up for NaBloPoMo. I kind of want to but I’m sure I’d end up flaking out at an early stage, as I did last year, if I tried. Can I join in with the virtual tea sipping with Emily though???

  3. Stephanie says:

    Wow. Now THAT’s a title!! I have finshed 5 books for the RIP so far. I have 2 more that I know I will finish. Not as many as I wanted….but that is life!

  4. nova says:

    You’re going to AWP! I’ll be there, my first time ever. I’m excited. In coincidence, the hotels where the conference will be held are a mere two blocks from my office, but I have promised myself that no matter how mountainous the piles on my desk may seem, I am NOT ALLOWED to go in and sneak in a couple hours’ work. I will pretend the office does not exist on those days.

    So I’m looking forward to your Friday posts. And when you have a good rhythm with your novel, you have a good rhythm, and that’s way more than I have. Best of luck with it!

  5. You’re going to be a NaBloPoMo cheerleader! That’s so cool. I think it’s a great idea to select a few good posts to highlight, because if I remember correctly last year I wrote quite a lot of dross. Much better to focus on the good stuff.

    And I second Nova. If you’ve good a good rhythm going with your novel, then you don’t need NaNoWriMo. I’ve signed up but am probably not going to do it. With Nablo and my tons of deadlines I don’t think it’s feasible. I like the widget though.

    As for the bully, bully him back. I had a bullying boss once and I discovered that both bossing and bullying him made him back down. Bizarrely, we are now the best of friends and I recently went to his wedding.

  6. Laura says:

    I am so glad you posted this! I had no idea that NaBloPoMo (who comes up with these things? lol!) even existed. I am going to do it! Not because I think I have anything important to say, but because it’s easier than writing a novel, I have nothing else more productive to do, and I saw on the Today show that there is some mommy-blogger making $4000 a month in advertising from her mommy-blog and now I know what I want to do with my life 😉

    I’m sorry you are being bullied. I would probably cry too.

  7. LK says:

    Oh, I hope someday to participate in Nanonamo — see, I can’t even spell it. The fall, though, is a bad time of year for me, health-wise, so never have enough energy for it.

    Re your office bully: Just remember, bullies essentially are cowards. If you call their bluff, they typically back down very fast. You just have to stand up to them — and in a calm, nonthreatening yet firm manner. Easier said than done, I know!!!

  8. Dorothy W. says:

    I won’t be attending AWP, but perhaps, if there’s time, there could be a blogger meet-up somewhere? I live only 1 – 1 1/2 hours from NYC.

    Sorry about the bully — I would get stressed about that too. I’m sure the advice others have given you is right, to stand up to him. I hope things have improved with him!

  9. Courtney says:

    Emily – yes, let’s sip virtual tea together – I love it! I have been very good and drinking my green tea lately but maybe for November I will break out the beloved Earl Grey,with sugar, please…

    Nova – yep -I’m going! We will have to meet. Or is that weird? I don’t know. REgardless, I will be there. I just got the time off approved.

    Laura – I love that you are going to do NaBloPoMo. I am making you tell everyone in workshop on Sunday so we can hold you to it.

    charlotte – I love thinking of myself as a cheerleader – that’s perfect! The graphic designer actually isn’t my boss, and actually works for a firm we contract with – he and I are sort of on the same “level” project wise. But today his print machine broke down so maybe that’s karma for being such a jerk.

    LK – it is very hard for me to stand up to people. I try, and have succeeded when I have, but it can t ake me YeARS to work up the nerve. Your advice is good, though – I may give it a try…

    Dorothy – I think a blogger meet up is brilliant. I think it should happen, no question. I will post or email about the Lopate panels, and the panels on women essayists!

  10. Emily Barton says:

    I’d be game for a blogger meetup in NY. I’ve been considering the possibility of arranging one in Philly at some point, too.

  11. LK says:

    Oh, and P.S. — I am glad I’m not the only blogger to post a bad book critique…! But, I liked the fact that you warned people…

  12. bloglily says:

    Courtney — this is a fabulous, fabulous idea. I’ve been wanting to go east to visit a friend and would love to meet up in NYC. Just name the date and place! xoxo, BL

Leave a Reply

