NaBloPoMo Shout Out #1

Days without oven – I’ve lost count. Our landlord did return our call after five days and said she was looking into it – we haven’t heard from her since. Food we’ve eaten, without our oven:Last night – chicken piccata – doesn’t count, made it at A’s. Tuesday evening – leftover bbq beef from the crockpot, on sourdough bread, with horseradish. Lots of broccoli. Monday – bbq beef from crockpot. Small baked potato with butter and sour cream. Spinach. Sunday – Good lord, I don’t remember at all what we ate on Sunday. Wait! Yes! An omelette. Saturday – horrible horrible horrible pasta from local restaurant that will remain unnamed since friend of S.’s father owns it. Horrible though. AWFUL. Friday – microwaved sweet potato covered in black beans, American cheese and hot sauce. As  you can see, our meals are becoming less and less interesting although my fascination in living w/out an oven is endless. I mean, I save SO much time at night now because I don’t cook dinner – it’s ridiculous. I could keep microwaving soups, scrambling eggs and pouring bowls of cereal AT LEAST through the holiday season. What at first seemed a huge annoyance has become a sneaky way of letting out the other me – the other me who didn’t make more than a bowl of cocoa puffs or minestrone soup for dinner, ever – you know, the pre-S. me.

So NaBloPoMo is off to a rolicking start – as far as I can tell everyone one I know participating has somehow managed to get a post a day up on his or her blog – and I find this absolutely stunning. Since I can barely manage 2-3 a week I am so impressed and inspired – I may even consider forcing myself to rise to the challenge someday. Someday. Not this year. Someday.

I’ve been trying to read the blogs I know that are participating but even that seems to be a challenge this month as work, social obligations, my own writing and trying to fix whatever the hell is wrong with my running (I keep pooping out – I don’t think it’s a diet thing as I’m swimming and workout out at the gym better than ever before, but just can’t seem to get my mojo in gear with running) and a whole lot of travel take over, but even with a busy-for-me schedule, I’ve run across some absolutely stunning writing, already.  In order to have some sort of theme for each NaBloPoMo Shout out, this week I bring you Blogs that Made Me Cry.

Is it any surprise that Charlotte of Charlotte’s Web was the first NaBloPoMo blogger to make me cry? Her tribute to A, who, in Charlotte’s words “fought poverty, lived through tragedy, got herself educated, found a great job, supports a family and finds time to help those less fortunate than herself. She has a sparkling sense of humour, a big laugh and a very soft heart” is not only beautifully written, but a wonderful example of creating a portrait with words. Charlotte’s continued dedication to writing about the people of South Africa never fails to educate and inspire.

The second Blog Post that Made me Cry comes from Kerryn, who wrote this review of A Thousand Splendid Suns. Since joining the blogging community so many months ago I have ceased to rely on any form of book recommendation beyond that of a friend, members of my writing group (who, actually, are also friends, now that I think about it) and bloggers. No longer do I rely on magazines and newspapers – no need. Read Kerryn’s review to understand why.

And Thirdly and Lastly, Noble Savage wrote this post about her husband, their child and their relationship. I both identified with her experience and found myself, despite having a kindred spirit of my own, envying her a bit. That’s just damn good writing, friends.

So, there you have it – Everythinginbetween’s First Official NaBloPoMo shout – out – more to come, soon!

This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaBloPoMo Shout Out #1

  1. Noble Savage says:

    Wow, thank you Courtney for including me in that list, I’m honored that you thought highly of my post! I noticed that the link you provided is my Home page so to save anyone searching for the post mentioned, here is the direct link http://noblesavage.me.uk/2007/11/07/the-russian-dolls-of-love/

    Off to read the review of A Thousand Splendid Suns. I want to read that book soon. I’ve already read Charlotte’s beautiful post which also brought me to tears. I love NaBloPoMo!

  2. Dorothy W. says:

    Good choices — I really loved Charlotte’s post too, and now I’ll go check out the other ones!

  3. Kerryn says:

    Thanks for including me Courtney. I love that as a blogger I don’t have to approach or react to a book critically; that I can react emotionally to something I read, share those emotions and have them touch others.

    And excellent other choices — I’m honoured to be included with Charlotte and Noble Savage.

Leave a Reply

