Two memes for the price of one

So I know I’ve been tagged at some point for both of these memes but I can no longer remember by whom. I’m wondering if the day exists where I will catch up on all the memes I owe – I hope not – they are perfect for a morning like this one, when my alarm failed to go off (my fault) and I have half the time I thought I did to blog. I copied these memes from yogamum’s site. First up, the marriage meme —

1. Where / how did you meet?
We met at a summer camp for nerds when we were sixteen. I was writing poetry underneath a tree (this was one of those sort of hippy summer camps, with lots of personal time) and this tall, long-limbed, dark-haired boy approached me. “So,” he asked. “Do you write?” I read him my poem, which he said was very powerful. We started eating breakfast together after that, but we didn’t start dating until the summer after our junior year in college.

2. How long have you known each other?
14 1/2 years.

3. How long after you met did you start dating?
Oops, I answered this one early! We met when I was sixteen, and started dating at twenty-one, so for five years. In high school we wrote long letters to one another, which we recently found and about killed ourselves laughing so hard. S. agreed to let me put portions of them in a blog post, which I will do down the line. In college we transitioned to email.

4. How long did you date before you were engaged?
Um…May June July August September October NOvemeber December January February – 10 months.

5. How long was your engagement?
A year and a half – I always SWORE I wouldn’t get married in August because my mom did and she said it’s an awful month for curly hair, but that was the first available church date! Now my sister-in-law, (S.’s younger sister) is getting married this coming August as well, and she also has the curly hair.

6. How long have you been married?
Almost eight years

7. What is your anniversary?
Um, I usually post on the day. Sometime in August. I need to keep any sort of google-able information off this site – not sure if that is google – able or not but since I can’t seem to get my name off it no matter how hard I try I am trying to protect S.

8. How many people came to your wedding reception? I think 150-ish.

9. What kind of cake did you serve?
No cake! Key lime pies.
10. Where was your wedding?

At the Presbyterian church I grew up in, moderated by the world’s most dour minister. But S.’s priest also was there and took part in the ceremony, and he was great, surprising us with passages from Shakespeare and, um, Kant, maybe? Someone S. reads. Wow, I sound like a horrible wife, not being able to remember!

11. What did you serve for the meal?
Chicken with a rasberry sauce. I never got a chance to eat, but hopefully it was adequate.

12. How many people were in your bridal party?
5 on each side. I know. And I don’t care. I could have had more!

13. Are you still friends with them all?
My maid of honor is still my best friend today. Two of them are my sisters-in-law and one is my cousin. The other, unfortunately, I have fallen out of touch with. As for the groomsmen, we are in Christmas card contact with the best man, email contact with another, close friends with another, and the rest are family. I mean, we live down the road from my brother, now.

14. Did your spouse cry during the ceremony?
Yes. And I did not. I wasn’t a big crier in my early twenties, although in the last four years that has changed dramatically. If I were to marry him to day I probably wouldn’t make it down the aisle.

15. Most special moment of your wedding day?
The ceremony itself, with the minister included the members of the congregation in the vows while discussing how marriages effect communities.

16. Any funny moments?
I was 22 when I married. All of our friends were 22. There were LOTS of hookups and lots of drunken behavior, and my uncle even did the proverbial hit-on-my-girlfriends thing, so yes – lots.

17. Any big disasters?

The dj didn’t bring any of the music we requested. Mostly we danced to country music and rap. If that happened now, surely half the room would have had ipods on them that could have rectified the situation. Oh! And my ex-boyfriend’s sister was married the same day and had her reception in the hall across from mine, so eventually our receptions bled into one another in this huge, messy explosion of people I went to high school with.

18. Where did you go on your honeymoon?
No honeymoon, sadly. We drove home to North Carolina so S. could be back at Duke in time to start school.
19. How long were you gone?
N/A

20. If you were to do your wedding over, what would you change?
I would get the fancy embroidered dress I really wanted, not the plainer, cheaper dress (which I still loved, but hadn’t fallen in love with, you know?) And thirty year old me would do a wedding totally differently than 22 year old me, but regardless I will always cherish our wedding.

21. What side of the bed do you sleep on?
The left side.

22. What size is your bed?
Queen. Keening for the day we buy a king – S. is 6’6.

23. Greatest strength as a couple?
We laugh all of the time. I’d say we love each other as unconditionally as two people can. We let each other be, and we never worry about conforming to other people’s ideas of marriage, or what a marriage should look like or be like.

24. Greatest challenge as a couple?
We are both have strong opinions, so when we fight, dude, we FIGHT. Right now, living a part, the fact we both hate to talk on the phone is proving to be a challenge.

25. Who literally pays the bills?

We both do. We earn very similar salaries, with S. earning a bit more than I.

26. What is your song?
“How Sweet it is to be loved by you” by James Taylor. Go ahead and puke, it’s okay.

27. What did you dance your first dance to?
See above.

28. Describe your wedding dress.
White. Pearly. Plain.

29. What kind of flowers did you have at your wedding?
Roses! white roses, everywhere. And blue bachelor buttons. And roses!

30. Are your wedding bands engraved?
No. That’s a good idea, though.

And now, for our next meme! This is a book meme:

Pick up the nearest book of 123 pages or more. (No cheating!)

The Memory of Running by Ron McLarty. I am almost done and then I have a beautiful fresh stack of books from the library to begin enjoying!

Find Page 123.

Find the first 5 sentences.
Funnily enough, the narrator is describing a book he’s reading.

Post the next 3 sentences.
I ate some bananas, and when it got dark,I pushed the bike under a pine tree and lay near it on the grass. In the very early morning, I was cold and damp, and I dreamed it had rained all night. I made a mental note, in a part of my huge head that Iggy hadn’t banged up, to get a sleeping bag and a raincoat; then I pumped off in the general direction of Pennsylvania.

I’ll be reviewing this book soon!

This entry was posted in Meme madness. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Two memes for the price of one

  1. Oooh, lovely! I’ve got major key lime pie envy. Want one right now.

  2. Katie says:

    Normally I am not a fan of cake substitutes at weddings–no offense– but I am also on a key lime kick, so it sounds great. (To the pie: Where have you been all my life?) I am going to attempt key lime cupcakes as my contribution for a baby shower this weekend… we’ll see how that goes.

    I will email you again. I can’t believe I screwed up the address. I was sure I had it right!

  3. yogamum says:

    I want to read excerpts from those letters!

    And I want some key lime pie…yum…

  4. Noble Savage says:

    Very cool meme! I might steal this and do it myself…

  5. Emily Barton says:

    I’ve been toying with the idea of doing the marriage meme, but it’s so focused on the wedding, and, believe it or not, I don’t remember a lot of those wedding details, since I got married long-distance and had my mother arrange most of it (caterer, flowers, etc.). I just remember how extraordinarily happy and relaxed I was and how a friend of mine commented, “That means you’re marrying Mr. Right.” Some of the meme questions are fun, though, so I just might do it anyway, with a whole lot of “I don’t remembers.”

  6. Dorothy W. says:

    It was fun to read all this … and I’d like to read those letters too!

  7. Litlove says:

    Awwww, that’s really sweet. I managed to read through this backwards, and thought, wow, that’s quick to get engaged, and then I realised you’d known each other for a long time before that. And 6’6″ – hey, he’s even taller than my husband – incredible!

  8. Courtney says:

    Charlotte Otter – the key lime pie was actually something S. wanted but I’ve never been so over the top for sweets that I minded a bit…

    Katie – I know how stringent you are on the wedding/birthday cake issue. Who could forget?

    Yogamum…oh, you will get to read them. No worries there.

    Noble…consider yourself tagged!

    Emily…Lord, I needed a meme yesterday – I was surprised by how much I remembered! Your wedding day sounds lovely, and no doubt you married exactly the right man!

    dorothy…they’re coming!

    Litlove – don’t you find men that tall are all knees and elbows once they get in bed?

  9. Emily says:

    (This is the other Emily)

    What a nice post to get to know you on. But now I want Key Lime Pie.

  10. Andi says:

    Loved reading about your wedding! What fun. I don’t know if I’ll ever have one of those, so I have to live vicariously. 🙂

    And 6’6″?? Holy crap.

  11. LK says:

    Great excerpt! Like the idea of key lime pie, too…very untraditional and in a GOOD way.

Leave a Reply

