Domestic Goddessness Interrupted!Recipe Included!

S. arrived home early, stinking of woodsmoke, cigars and sweat accumulated from three days in the woods with dudes (he went to our cabin with my brother and some friends before officially moving home). I was this close to completing all tasks, with only the mopping of floors to be completed, but it must be noted to get this close I did not go to church, workout or work on my novel although I did get distracted by the Penguins hockey game and a nap. What I wanted to do most of all was share a recipe with all of you that I made today to eat from for the week. It makes the most of spring produce, utilizing both green onions and a mess of greens – I don’t know its origin but it’s southern-ish. S. is in the shower so here we go:

Spring Greens and Chicken

1/2 cup chopped green onions

2  garlic cloves, minced

1 tablespoon butter

one chicken, cut up

2-3 jalepeno peppers

Lots and lots of tender greens

salt

pepper

In a 3 quart pot, saute the onion and garlic in butter until tender and soft, about 10 minutes. Place the chicken pieces in the pot, add the hot peppers, and add enough water to cover all. Simmer for 45 minutes. Remove chicken. Bring broth to boil and add 1/2  the greens, reduce heat to simmer for five minutes. Add rest of greens and simmer for five more. Place chicken in bowls and cover with broth and greens – salt and pepper to taste.

I only had a spoonful of this today since I wasn’t particularly hungry, but it was SPECTACULAR. This is the second time I’ve made it and I have to say, making it with in-season ingredients really makes a huge difference. I love this dish – it’s both spicy and soothing, and it’s lack of grains or dairy make it a very cleansing dish, in my mind.

Happy spring eating! I’m working my way through Kingsolver’s book as I write this and she is having a profound effect on the way I think about food – more recipes like this are probably in the future. For now, though, let’s just celebrate the completeness of the everythinginbetween household!

This entry was posted in Do I Dare to Eat A Peach. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Domestic Goddessness Interrupted!Recipe Included!

  1. Andi says:

    Congrats on all you’ve accomplished! That recipe sounds AWESOME. I’m loving Kingsolver’s book as well. I got sidetracked from it today by Haruki Murakami’s After Dark, but I expect I’ll get back to it tomorrow.

  2. Cam says:

    Probably a dumb question, but why put in 1/2 the greens and simmer for 5 before adding the rest? If I were a more experienced cook, I’d probably understand the reasoning for this. Being a hurried cook, I’ve never thought about not putting all in at once.

    Yeah for the completeness in your household. Isn’t domestic bliss much better than the whole domestic goddess/clean house stuff? Forget about the unmopped floors!

  3. yogamum says:

    Is the rationale for 1/2 the greens first that the pot is so full of so many greens that they need to cook down to leave room?

    Sounds yummy!

  4. Courtney says:

    Andi, I am reading it a chapter a night – so I’m a bit behind. But I’ll tell you what, I am following her cooking advice and my veggies are AMAZING.

    Cam – Yogamum has it right…a mess of greens means a LOT and they fill the pot quickly, but also quick down quickly.

  5. Emily Barton says:

    So, what can there possibly be not to like about a recipe that includes 2-3 (when I make it, it will most definitely be 3) jalapeño peppers? However, the big question is: were you cooking it naked, except for strappy “slut shoes” when S. walked in the door?

Leave a Reply

