Fess Up Friday – Chicago edition

I’m in Chicago for the conference I attend every year and thus probably won’t return to blogging until sometime next week (Wednesday or Thursday) but I promised myself I wouldn’t miss Fess Up Friday so here’s a quick update:

Novel: Chapter nine moves along – it’s a big, messy chapter. I’ve decided to place the novel in 2002, the summer after 9/11, basically because the timing works with the characters ages. I think I’ve FINALLY worked the timing out – Ben served in Somalia in 1993 after graduating in 1992, Anna graduated in 1993 – this makes Anna and her brother Brian (name to be changed later) closer in age than I intended but these are the way things go when you need one character to be a Vietnam vet and two others to have served in Somalia and, well, the summer of 2002 and all that post 9/11madness should enhance things, but it will mean even MORE revision in the next draft. I think this is the week I’ll surpass the 100 page mark.

Blogging: Pleased with the early part of the week but not pleased with the end of the week – but then again, cancer research and treatment waits for no man. Thank God.

Reading: I finished Laura Lippman’s What the Dead Know and while I sort of surmised the twist pretty early on, otherwise I can say it’s one of the creepier mystery books I’ve read in a long time, which for me means two thumbs totally up! Lippman’s imagination, plot creation and writing skills really drew me into the story. This is definitely one I’ll be revisiting when I turn to my in the works mystery series.

Other writing: I had a revelation about my work writing yesterday – I think I’m going to be able to break through to the next level, as just last night I saw a judge on Step Up and Dance say to a contestant. Basically I’ve been following in the footsteps of the woman who had the job before me and losing my own creativity in the process and while that has been the safe route, I know my boss, who is this amazing writer herself, hired me for ME and my writing and if I don’t take  risks I won’t be doing the position justice.

Okay – I miss blogging so I’m hoping to throw one in during the conference but I just got the schedule and between working, catching up with colleagues and seeing a few friends and my cousin, it will probably be next week!

This entry was posted in Time for a Hundred Visions and Revisions. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fess Up Friday – Chicago edition

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    Great revelation about your work writing — it’s hard to take that step and do your own thing, but I’m sure your boss and everyone else involved will love it.

  2. I liked the way you presented the various elements that go into your writing life. I still haven’t written today’s Fess post, but this is an interesting way to do it.

  3. Emily Barton says:

    You know, if I hadn’t gotten sick and han to cancel the trip, I was supposed to be leaving Chicago this morning? Hope you’re enjoying it. The Lippman book sounds great and glad to hear things seem to be progressing at work with your new revelation. And, of course, more blog posts from you are always welcomed by me (but no pressure, especially if they interfere with more important writing).

  4. Sounds like everything’s coming together in Chapter Nine. Glad to hear it’s going well and that you are getting your timelines in order. Mine are a bit all over the place, but I’m hoping I can get the end of my first draft without having to attend to them too closely.

    Your work revelation is a good thing. Hope that fires you up for your work-related writing.

  5. yogamum says:

    You sound like you’re on a roll!!! Roll on!

  6. Litlove's Husband says:

    Great work revelation. Probably of relevance to just about all of us who write, full stop. It’s too easy to follow in other’s footsteps and not really dig deep into what we do, personally, uniquely, best. I shall think on that. Have a great conference!

  7. Dorothy, I’m going to give it a go, anyhow. I’ve been stifling my creative side for a few months now and I really think I can do better. By the way, I’m sorry I won’t be able to see you this weekend! As I explained to Emily, this job is really demanding a lot right now…

    Writer – welcome! I look forward to visiting your site and seeing your progress!

    Emily – Lippman was really a good book. I would recommend it heartily!

    Charlotte – now I’ve abandoned poor chapter nine for a week – I’m going to have nothing to post day after tomorrow!

    Litlove’s husband – welcome! What a surprise. Yes, I really need to dig deep, as you put it. I’ve been almost formulaic in my approach to this writing and it isn’t doing me,or anyone else, much good!

Leave a Reply

