Fessing up, and adieu

I owe a fess up Friday for really the last two weeks since I didn’t post on the 4th of July…

My novel: It moves slowly and surely. In the last two weeks I managed to find some good chunks of time to work on it. I’m in a stage of writing though where it takes me, it seems, a long time to really get into the story before I begin writing…chapter ten takes place in 1990 in the fall and I pass a good half hour each time I sit down to the computer bringing myself back into the scene. It’s weird to write something knowing it’s going to need at least two major revisions, like how I just decided it takes place during the summer of 2002 (mainly) midway through act one and so I’ll have to go back and fix that, and how I now hate the title aPind know it must change. I’m also really digging into some of the darker aspects of Anna’s experiences and it’s difficult.

Blogging – I wish I had time to blog more but I manage to get here a couple of times a week and I am still able to read all of my favorite bloggers so I have to be happy with the rhythm.

Reading – Finally finished An American Childhood and found myself utterly charmed by it – I can’t believe I said I felt “meh” about it a few weeks ago. Annie Dillard does such an amazing job of capturing exactly what childhood feels like, and what Pittsburgh still feels like today – all in all, a lovely read. I will have to give Pilgrim another shot. Again.

Work writing – This is a meh. Love my job, but sometimes it’s hard to write for committee. Too many people editing my work, making ridiculous suggestions but that’s okay because…

I’m going on vacation! Yes, everythinginbetween will be going dark for the next ten days, as I am headed up to Michigan to frolick with friends and family and I feel the very need for a computerless, blackberryless ten days in my very bones. When I realized S. wouldn’t be able to take a proper vacation because he is taking so much time to study for the bar, I resigned myself to a vacationless summer as well. And then I thought about it. And realized that was stupid. And so I called my mom to see if she wanted to rent a condo on my favorite beach in northern Michigan for a week, and shop and eat swim. And she did. Except my dad wanted to come. And he thought it would be fun if we took the camper.  And the dogs. And so now I am staying in a camper with my parents for a week, but it’s still on my favorite beach and since they changed the plans on me they offered to pay for everything so really, I’m not going to complain. We’ll be in the one small town I think I could actually move to and never leave, where my parents grew up. I’ll be able to visit my grandparents’ graves, visit with my uncle whom I rarely see, spend long hours on the beach because my parents love to sunbathe and S. unequivocally does not, eat ice cream and/or fudge every day, read, go to movies, shop…can you tell I’m a little bit excited? I’ll also get to stop in for a brief visit to see the new roof on the family cabin and spend one night in my hometown.  You know, it’s funny – I love my husband, I mean, I LOVE him very much and of course would prefer he go on vacation with me, and I’ve been feeling badly about that fact until just this week when it all sort of dawned on me…the freedom that comes with being alone for quite a bit of time. I can eat wherever I want, stop to pee when I feel like it, choose all the radio stations, play long long board games with my parents, stop driving to take pictures – as S. would say, I get to be the boss of me.  I am looking absurdly forward to it.

So, adieu for now – I’ll be back in 10 days!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Fessing up, and adieu

  1. Andi says:

    I hope you have a wonderful time on vacation! It sounds like a prime opportunity to recharge the batters. Have fun being the boss of you! (love that)

  2. I also love being the boss of me. Have a fabulous time – your vacation sounds so appealing.

  3. Have a great holiday! That beach sounds like a perfect place to me!

  4. Dorothy W. says:

    Have a great time — it sounds wonderful!

  5. Eve says:

    I have just finished reading three Annie Dillard books in a row, and “An American Childhood” is on the shelf, waiting. She’s an amazing writer.

    Have a good vacation. I’m a new reader, here by way of Charlotte, so look forward to catching up on your blog while you’re away. “See” you when you get back!

  6. Cam says:

    I took one of those “boss of me” vacations two summers ago: driving around Wales for a few days, stopping whenver I wanted to wander through old ruins, then went to London to do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. Met up with family after a week. It was one of the best vacations every because I didn’t have to coordinate or mediate anything!

    Have a terrific time recharging your batteries.

  7. smithereens says:

    Enjoy your perfect vacation!

  8. Elaine says:

    Enjoy that well-deserved R&R, Babycakes. Thinking of you and looking forward to seeing you again on the other side of this month’s insanity. xoxoxo!

  9. Emily Barton says:

    Well, I’m sorry you didn’t decide to take your vacation in Lancaster County, but I completely understand your need to get away and to spend some time with family. Hope it’s wonderful! We’ll be here waiting when you get back. oxoxoxo

  10. debra says:

    Ten days in northern Michigan sounds like heaven! I love it up there. Will you be on Lake Michigan or Lake Superior?

    Have a wonderful time!

  11. litlove says:

    Have a fantastic time, Courtney! It sounds like a perfect vacation for you.

  12. yogamum says:

    That sounds lovely and it’s good that you can enjoy doing things both with and without S.! Have fun!

  13. Stefanie says:

    Have a marvelous time! I am a bit envious so please come back with lots of stories so I have a vicarious vacation 🙂

  14. Pete says:

    Look forward to hearing about when you come back, Courtney. Sounds idyllic.

Leave a Reply

