all rested and relaxed

these are the first words i’ve typed in ten days. I had a wonderful vacation, which included two ice cream cones, two margaritas, too many vodka tonics, three amazing dogs, at least five stories told to me by my parents that had me laughing so hard I nearly peed my pants, two awesome visits with old friends, four days by the beach, one nighttime drive with my dad through Hemingway country, one book read (The Book of Lost Things), zero shopping trips and zero movies, and extra thousand miles on my car. I’ve returned three pounds thinner (seriously, vacationing with my parents is a great diet plan. they NEVER eat. NEVER.), much tanner and while I am rested, I’m pretty tired – turns out I might be more of a condo/house/hotel kind of woman than a camping kind of woman, and sharing such a small space with one’s parents, while providing lots of time for chatting and laughing, might be a bit much to ask from such a sensitive sleeper. All in all though I had a wonderful trip – the vacation shook up my routine enough that I forgot about certain work projects, was able to come to terms with some personal relationships I’ve been struggling with, and I feel significantly more focused on my job and my novel. It’s great to be home. I’ll write more and share more pictures later but for now I will leave you with a few shots from Northern Michigan – perhaps you can understand a tiny bit why we rarely vacation anywhere else in the summer? edited to say my beach pictures aren’t fitting in for some reason, so I’ll share them at a later date!
Sunset over Lake Charlevoix

Sunset over Lake Charlevoix

My super gorgeous parents drinking margaritas

My super gorgeous parents drinking margaritas

This entry was posted in Michigan Meditations. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to all rested and relaxed

  1. Emily says:

    Sounds like a great trip, but you probably should go for that hotel next time πŸ™‚

  2. yogamum says:

    OMG look at those HUGE margaritas!
    I want one!
    Glad you’re back!

  3. litlove says:

    So glad you had a lovely time! And your parents look sweet.

  4. Dorothy W. says:

    Glad you had a good time. There’s nothing like a good vacation to put your regular life into some perspective …

  5. Cam says:

    The lake picture is beautiful! And the one of your parents is great too. Glad you had a good time.

  6. I want to have a margarita with your parents! And you of course, Courtney. Glad you had fun.

  7. smithereens says:

    Welcome back Courtney! Seems you had a great time with your parents (and margaritas!) πŸ˜‰

  8. noble savage says:

    I usually come back from visits with my parents having gained five pounds so you’re lucky that yours aren’t into the ‘food is love’ mentality. Though those ‘ritas look pretty sinful. I would kill for a tequila-laden fruity drink.

    Glad you have a good time, welcome back!

  9. Pete says:

    The lake and the margaritas look amazing and your parents look like a lot of fun. Am quite jealous about all the resting and relaxing.

  10. The best vacation is where you can forget about routine, and just enjoy the time you have to relax or do whatever it is you enjoy doing.
    “these are the first words I’ve typed in ten days” That’s actually a good thing! When I go away I like to store up stories in my head and write them down later. Gives me more time to look and see things.

  11. Audrey says:

    I miss MI. But only the beautiful, up-north, vacationy parts. Not the ugly, day-to-day, everyone is pissed off and mean parts.

  12. debra says:

    I’m glad you had such a great, relaxing time! I haven’t had a vacation in over two years and you definitely have me thinking about it. Strongly!

    And your parents are just the cutest! πŸ˜‰

  13. Stefanie says:

    Welcome back! Your trip sounds marvelous. Amazing what a little time away can do for a person.

  14. courtney says:

    Emily, Amen, sister-friend!
    Yogamum – I had two. And I got sick.
    Litlove – they ARE sweet.
    Dorothy, already work has sort of ruined my perspective, but generally I agree…
    Cam, thanks!
    Smithereens – we had a lovely time πŸ™‚
    NS – food is definitely not love with my family, that’s for sure. I honestly think I’m still a little hungry from that trip…
    Pete – aw, it was quite relaxing.
    elementary – I agree, although of course I’ve been typing like crazy since then!
    Audrey – northern MI is all I really miss. I don’t think people realize how MEAN southern MI is unless they move away!
    Deb – welcome! And thanks – I am hugely partial to my folks!
    Stefanie, it is amazing. thanks for the welcome.

Leave a Reply

