who taught McCain to use air quotes?

not that I was going to vote for Senator McCain anyway, but as my brother D noted last night, we had to watch the debate because we cannot be the people who refuse to listen to the other side of the argument, but was anyone else appalled by the Senator’s use of air quotes? I completely lost my mind when he USED AIR QUOTES around the term ‘mother’s health’ when he and Senator Obama were discussing late-term abortions. Senator Obama was attempting to help the public understand why he voted against a bill banning late-term abortions – he voted against it because he wants a stipulation in the bill allowing them in case the mother’s life needs to be saved. Did you SEE McCain’s sneer at this? And then his RESPONSE? When he said “On this issue of “the mother’s life…” as though the mother’s life is just some old, tired, unimportant issue? As though womens health just doesn’t matter? Now, I don’t support late-term abortions either UNLESS the mother’s life is in grave danger, but this is another example of how the extreme right wing has commodified children…placing greater value on the unborn than on the heroic duty of carrying them in the first place. I cannot imagine carrying a child for six or seven months and then by some random act having my life in PERILOUS danger and have to make, or have S. make, a decision on what to do, only to have a law not allow us that right. Of course, this disdain for womens bodies and the right to make their own decision actually ties in quite nicely with McCain’s health care plan, where not only will I my benefits be taxed, which are really one of the biggest pluses to working for a healthcare nonprofit, but only the extremely young and healthy will be able to obtain coverage. I find it ironic that a Senator, whose age has been an issue in this campaign, values most highly youth and health and sweeps under the carpet the needs of the more mature citizens in this country. It’s a fabulous way to bankrupt the baby boomers in upcoming years, given the tsunami of illnesses that is predicted they will bring into the system.

Someone really should have talked to McCain about this whole air quote business. Surely it was meant to demonstrate how unimportant the issues Obama brought up were, but it came across as incredibly dismissive and arrogant.

God. I hope I can make it until November 4th.

This entry was posted in The Public. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to who taught McCain to use air quotes?

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    You’re right — that was a very scary moment. I hope lots of women saw it and act accordingly.

  2. yogamum says:

    I didn’t see it yet but I have it on the DVR. Sounds like scary stuff indeed.

  3. Pete says:

    Sounds horrible. But I didn’t see the debate so can’t comment. BTW, I like your readiness to hear the other side, as grating as the experience seems to be. 19 days to go – and thankfully no more debates. Great to see Obama ahead in Virginia (not sure why I care about Virginia but they all count).

  4. Emily Barton says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. Proof positive that he and Palin would roll us back about a hundred years when it comes to women’s rights.

  5. Cam says:

    It was as scary as his saying that he was ‘proud of her [Palin]’ was creepy. She’s his running mate — not his daughter or neice, or pet. What sort of demeaning pat on the head sexist cr@p was that? I almost missed the air quotes because I couldn’t stand to look at McCain’s fake smile – but listened to the entire debate. The next 18 days can’t go by soon enough. I’m in Florida right now and have overheard some scary misinformation in restaurants and stores. I thought I lived in a backwater state but I haven’t heard anyone make such asinine comments (and in case anyone reading this is wondering — they weren’t ‘old’ people repeating racist internet smears).

  6. Litlove says:

    I didn’t know he could get his arms high enough to do air quotes.

  7. Andi says:

    The air quotes are ridonkulous, but I’ve decided he’s just a creepy bastard all the way around. The snake-like tongue flicks made me throw up in my mouth a little.

  8. I wondered if I was the only one who was bothered by that, but nope, guess not!

    Seems very sarcastic and childish to me. He resorted to making fun of something in order to get a point across.

  9. Courtney says:

    Ladies and gentleman, we aren’t the only ones upset with the air quotes around “mother’s health” – in fact there his action has incited articles and blog posts all over the internet. I am still so appalled by it that I will probably bring it up again closer to election day so we don’t forget about it.

    Well, we are moving inexorably closer to election day. I have hope. I have high hope. Yes, we can!

  10. verbivore says:

    I got so frustrated with McCain during the debate I had to get up and leave the room a couple of times. I especially liked it when he started talking about Obama’s eloquence like it was some sort of disease. I get so frustrated with the Republican party’s tendancy to represent education and intelligence as somehow evil or the reverse, that ignorance is somehow noble.

    The ‘mother’s health’ moment was particularly heinous. But its on par for the course at the moment.

Leave a Reply

