The alcoholic meme

I had hoped to spend some quality time blogging today, and by quality time I mean I had hoped to write a longer, more thoughtful post on any one of the dozen thoughts running through my brain these days, but I only have an hour until E. and I head out for a day of movie-going and coffee-drinking, S. is packing madly for his upcoming trip to L.A., and the reason S. packs so madly is because my brother is on his way over so they can tailgate before the Steelers game this afternoon. Thankfully, the amazing Emily posted this meme a few days ago on her blog, and since I certainly qualify for one (or more) of the tags, this will d0 quite nicely. And expect many more memes before the year is done – I am determined to complete all that I have been tagged for but I have been saving them since December brings the chaos of the move to our new home and the holidays – memes will work to fill the gaps between posts.

1. What’s your favorite drink?

Vodka tonic, hands down, but I only drink them in the summer. You know how some people eat seasonally? Well, while I try to do so but I am much better at drinking seasonally. This month it’s either pomegranate martinis or red wine, depending.

2. Do you prefer red or white wine?

Red. Right now my favorite is Gnarley Head’s red zinfandel, but that’s bound to change of these days.

3. Do you prefer dark or pale ale?

In the spirit of the question, I will answer pale ale because I love the taste, but something about the hoppiness of pale ales (or, more likely, the alcohol content), KILLS me. I prefer Belgium whites like Holy Moses, or honestly, a Sam Adams. I don’t drink beer too often, though.

4. What was the worst hangover you ever had?

I love Emily’s response to this, where she describes the hangover by thinking “Maybe children are a good thing if being responsible for them would keep me from ever feeling this way again.” And that’s what a hangover will do to you, which is why it’s much, much better just to have one or two and then stop. Anymore, I completely agree with her…I enjoy a cocktail or two before dinner but that’s about it…I try to avoid activities where drinking is the actual activity – I like it as a complement to the evening, but not as the entire point.

That said.

My worst hangover came a couple of years ago when S. and I were visiting Pittsburgh for a Sonny Landreth/Patrick Sweany concert. I drank rum. I drank beer. I made everyone in the concert hall my friend. My brother and his wife picked us up and we went to a bar, where I started drinking vodka. At one point I vaguely remember my brother waving he cell phone in my face, saying “Hey, it’s almost 2:00 am. When is the last time you saw this side of midnight?” The night was fabulous. The drive across Ohio the next morning, back to Michigan, is indelibly ingrained in my memory and often serves as excellent prevention from going to far.

5. Would you describe yourself as a mean drunk, a happy drunk, or a maudlin drunk?

Happy. Opinionated, but happy. Unless I’m drinking gin. Then I want to brawl.

6. Are you a two-fisted drinker or a light-weight?

I think I’m somewhere in between. I have a lot of girlfriends who can only drink one glass of wine or beer before getting tipsy – I’m not that lightweight. But three drinks is often too much. I’m a two-drink kind of girl.

7. Do you drink while reading?

Very rarely. I like coffee or tea or lemonade or something if I’m reading, but I never want to combine the two. What if they don’t get along?

8. Reading what makes you want to drink?

Rolling Stone Magazine.

9. Which favorite fictional character of yours has got to be an alcoholic?

Ooh, this question is difficult! I just finished One Good Turn and I wouldn’t blame Jackson Brodie if he became one…Julia, grrr!

10. Which fictional character would you most like to bar hop with?

Angie Gennaro, from Dennis LeHane’s series of mystery novels. No question. I wish she was real.

11. What’s your favorite scene from a movie involving drink?

One of my favorite movies, this year, PS I Love You, when all the girlfriends are out drinking in some small Irish town. Love girlfriends. Love drinking with girlfriends. Loved the whole movie.

12. Watching what movie makes you want to drink?

Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood

The Prince of Tides

I am keeping Emily’s tagging in tact~

Tagged:

All NaBloPoMo participants who are reading this

Anyone who has ever woken up with a hangover and sworn never, never to drink again

Anyone who felt like mixing up a favorite drink/pouring a glass of wine/pouring a glass of ale while reading this

Listening To: Steve Earl, Copperhead Road (thanks, Ms. Make Tea!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The alcoholic meme

  1. auntjone says:

    #4 is so very, very true. You can’t sleep off a binge with a toddler in the house. But I don’t suggest having kids as deterrent for over-imbibing… 🙂

  2. Emily Barton says:

    “I made everyone in the concert hall my friend.” I think I’ve had a couple of nights like that (thankfully, it’s been a very, very long time). Thanks for playing! Loved your answers.

Leave a Reply

