Bullet Tuesday

I woke up early today with the intent to blog but I’ve been sitting in front of my computer screen for ten minutes and haven’t been able to come up with a topic that I feel ready to write about – I didn’t sleep well last night and I’m feeling a little bleary-eyed and out of sorts. A perfect time, I think, for bullets!

  • I had my hairdresser give me a really short cut – he cut seven inches off my hair. I actually like it but it seems to be shocking everyone else. I did this partly because growing my curls out to look like Sarah Jessica Parker was not working, partly because I am trying for a more professional, grown-up look, and partly because it will be nice for summer.
  • Sometimes I’m scared I’m never going to feel like a grown up. I am thirty two years old and I still feel like I’m in my early twenties. Part of the short haircut was a quiet hope it would push me into some sort of adulthood feeling, but no such luck. I would still rather cruise around town in torn jeans, a t-shirt and my backpack over designer heels, dressy clothes and a big handbag. I would still rather hang out with friends than do housework. Hmm – I guess most people probably feel this way, though…still, I feel like I’m about twenty-two.
  • Gardening is hard. In fact I decided to stick with container gardening this year in order to get some practice before tilling a bunch of our backyard under for a larger vegetable garden. I just don’t have the experience to feel comfortable with a big garden right now. This makes me feel sort of sad because my dad and both my grandmothers are/were remarkable gardeners and I thought that  gene surely must have been passed down to me, so all I had to do was look at a seedling to understand its wants and needs, and it would grow all happy under my care. Turns out – um – not so much. This is going to take work.
  • But I enjoy it enough to do the work.
  • I made a strawberry rhubarb crumble this weekend from Barbara Kingsolver’s book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. I’m not going to post the recipe because I think you should all run out and buy the book but it is amazingly good. See how domestic I’ve become? Rhubarb crumbles! Gardening! That’s grown up, right?
  • I’ve actually thought about re-titling this blog and call it stumbling towards adulthood but I am much too lazy to do so – I think I’ll just create a tag instead.
  • I sort of wish Alice Waters would get off President Obama’s back. I mean, I am all for eating locally and organically and I agree a shift in the way we feed ourselves needs to happen, but I actually think the Slow Foods movement has gone a long way towards this and I just don’t think this is priority number one right now. For that matter, reversing the “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy in the military isn’t, either. I mean, the man has to deal with multiple wars and a collapsing economy. He can get to school lunches down the road.
  • And on the topic of politics, you know who has hit the ground running and totally knocked my socks off? Hillary Clinton. Damn, girlfriend. Instead of grousing around and going on all the political talk shows criticizing her one-time rival, she is just getting the job done. I am redonkulously impressed by her.
  • John Edwards, though, has broken my heart.
  • I am heading to Orlando on Friday for work purposes and have no idea where I should eat – all recommendations welcome.
  • I have too much to do in the next three days and not enough time to do it. I hate that. I mean, I KNOW things always get done and they will get done but it really doesn’t feel like it right now, which is an annoying way to begin a week following a three-day weekend.
  • Okay. Hmm. If I want to accomplish everything I need to do by Friday morning I’d best get off the internet and into some work clothes, right now. Seriously. More soonish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bullet Tuesday

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    Well, reaching 35 hasn’t made me feel grown-up, I’m sorry to say (or maybe I’m not sorry, I’m not sure how to feel about this). Hobgoblin and I joke about how we’re slowly moving into the adult world, only now buying things like coffee tables, but we still live our lives like college students in a lot of ways. I’m not sure anybody really feels grown-up, though. What’s it supposed to feel like after all?

  2. Noble Savage says:

    I feel about 35 but am only 29 (for a few more weeks). Bloody kids. 😉

  3. Sara says:

    Never be sad that you don’t feel like an adult. That’s a good thing! Ever notice how kids enjoy their lives more than most “adults”?

    I’m 30 and starting to notice that I don’t feel like I did in my twenties so I’m *trying* to act like a kid at least once a day (tickle fights, get out in the rain and get soaked, sing in my car while other drivers laugh). And may we never feel our age.

  4. auntjone says:

    I’m 34 but don’t feel it- at least not mentally. Physically I think I’m probably 50! Need to remedy that.

    Do a search on Serious Eats for restaurant recommendations in Orlando. You might try Amateur Gourmet, too. Seems as if he lived in that area and his parents are still there…but I could be wrong.
    And most of all, have a safe and productive trip!

  5. Emily Barton says:

    I’m 45 and still feel like I’m 22 (except I do like to dress up more than I used to back then. Still, though, mostly prefer jeans and shorts and comfortable Ts over skirts and blouses).

    I’m impressed with Clinton, too, and Edwards also broke my heart.

    I ate at a fabulous sushi restaurant in Orlando a few years back, but, sorry, I can’t even begin to remember what it was. Perhaps you don’t like sushi, though?

  6. Cam says:

    I just turned 49 and was wondering the other day if I would feel like a “grownup” when I’m 50! My child can legally drink in a few months; I have graying hair; I know people who are about to pay off mortgages, or start a second career, or retire. And 50 seems pretty freakin’ old to be, but I don;t know that I “feel like an adult”. The thing is, I don’t think that there is a certain way that one becomes an adult or feels when you’ve reached that point. It happens incrememntally. You’ve been an adult since you started making decisions for yourself and engaging in the adult world. Don’t count about attaining a certain feeling, or acquiring specific things, or enduring certain rites of passages to have adulthood conferred upon you. Instead, just live. 🙂

  7. lvmg (Lizzy) says:

    Well I’m 37, and I never thought I would ever be ’37’, it always seemed like something that happened to other people, not me. I don’t feel old though. I know I’m not a girl anymore, but I sure feel like it.

    Don’t feel bad about not feeling like an adult. I think it’s a good thing.

  8. litlove says:

    Gardening IS hard. Having the kitchen redone has meant moving my baby plants elsewhere, and there isn’t really a good elsewhere. My beans went into my son’s room, where the curtains never get drawn. Their response to this was to keep growing but in pygmy form, so I have lots of seven inch high plants with teeny-weeny beans growing off them, like dolls house supplies. I’ve put them in the garden finally, with a lot of sighing and hoping for the best.

  9. bloglily says:

    Oh, John Edwards! How could he do that to lovely Elizabeth? But then, she has come back quite well, I think.

    As for adulthood — don’t even worry about that. You are living your own version of that life, and it sounds just fine to me.

  10. ZoesMom says:

    I am with you on Alice Water, Hillary Clinton, and John Edwards.

    I’d rather feel 22 than any other age. Go with it.

  11. Dorothy – it makes me feel better that I am keeping company as lovely as yours and hobgoblin’s in this everlasting quest to feel grownup…
    NS – maybe when we have children I’ll feel grown up…
    Sara – welcome! And, amen! I look forward to checking out your blog.
    Aunt Jone – i guess I am lucky I feel younger than I am…I mean, what’s the alternative?
    Emily, um, I, like, totally heart sushi so much I want to marry it. NO – you want to marry it. No, I want to marry it…
    Cam – I think you are right. I need to concentrate on just living and stop worrying about feeling grown up. Am quite surprised by the possibility I might not feel so in my forties…
    Lizzy – you hit the nail on the head. I think of myself as a girl instead of a woman!
    Litlove – here is hoping the best for your little plants. My tomato plant is doing well so far but my flowers were beaten to death by a rainstorm.
    Bloglily – what a lovely thing to say. I need to embrace the fact that I am, actually, doing just fine.
    Zoesmom – ug, John Edwards. There are no words left.

  12. Andi says:

    I need to do the cutting of the hair. My curls have gotten ridiculously long and unruly. On the gardening front, I’m not sure I would have the immediate know-how to do a big vegetable garden. My grandparents were amazing at it, but it skipped over my mother and myself.

Leave a Reply

