What I did on my summer vacation

First of all, thank you all so much for your lovely, lovely vacation wishes. S. and I spent ten days completely unplugged, away from all cell phones, blackberries, emails, blogs and facebook and it was, in a word, wonderful. I am all those wonderful “r” words…refreshed, relaxed, rejuvenated…and utterly committed to having more time like the last ten days I just spent. More substantial post to come later in the week, but in the mean time…

my parents always wonder how S. and I can spend so much time at our family cabin, which in the past has mostly been used as a respite after long days hunting and fishing. S. and I manage to turn it into a vacation respite as regularly as possible and it certainly baffles my parents, who live less than an hour from the cabin and use it as a stop-gap for outdoor activities but not as a place to vacation. To them, I answer in this way.

We watch the dogs play: (okay, is this picture showing up? Sometimes it is and sometimes it isn’t on my computer…)

Fierce Dogs

and we spend endless hours staring at the lake loon:

loon

and we nap:

more sleep

and we sit by the lake:

profile

sky

and we drink wine:

wine

and then we look at the lake some more:

sun!

sunset

and then, we nap some more…

snoozes

and it was wonderful. As I told S., if I had my choice of seeing Paris only once, or going to the cabin countless times for the rest of my life, I would choose the cabin, hands down. The aspen trees rustling in the air,  the smell of pine needles drying in the sun – it all acts as a tonic to soothe my mind and my body. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been going to the cabin since I was a baby, or if perhaps I feel the beat of the souls of my great-grandfather and grandfather and all the lovely, strong men and women from my family who’ve spent time there, or if it’s as simple as the sun, the sand, and the ability to breathe deeply. Whatever it is, already I am keening to return, which, as S. points out, is the mark of a good vacation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What I did on my summer vacation

  1. Dorothy W. says:

    That sounds wonderful. I would totally take the countless trips to the cabin over Paris any day.

  2. ZoesMom says:

    Wow, I want to go the cabin too! So glad you had a great time away.

  3. appellationmountain says:

    Wow – I could stare at that lake for days and not be bored for a second.

    On a slightly different note, I bought blackberries at the farmer’s market the other day. As Clio mashed them into her little baby mouth, I thought about how much *better* a blackberry I’d brought home in the little paper crate than the one that lives in my work bag. The farmer just told me that she’s bringing Asian plums this week – so far, I don’t believe there’s a device named for those!

    Glad you had a fabulous escape.

  4. How lovely that S shares your love of the cabin and the sitting, looking, drinking and napping. I would adore such a holiday but my husband would go stark raving mad.

  5. Cam says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time! Good for you.

  6. lvmg (Lizzy) says:

    Welcome back! Your vacation sounds wonderful…

  7. Stefanie says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time! I need a vacation like that. I’m with you, I’d rather have vacations at a cabin like yours than see Paris if I had to make a choice.

  8. bloglily says:

    Welcome back! It’s important to have a place to go to that speaks to you the way this one so clearly does. It looks beautiful and yes those dogs are definitely playing!!

  9. Pete says:

    Love the pics and I can see why you love that place. And you can see that the dogs are having a great time too. Look forward to hearing more about it.

  10. Smithereens says:

    Welcome back! For my sake, I’d like you to have both Paris (so that we could meet up!) and the cabin… but the lake looks charming, no wonder you can look at it forever (do you swim in it as well or is it too cold??)

  11. Dorothy – right? I mean, I WANT to go to Paris, but if I had to choose…
    Zoesmom – thanks!
    Abby – those blackberries sound luscious. S. and I were talking about how once Cleo is a little older (ie, can swim) the four of you should come up with us!
    Charlotte – I like one vacation like that a year but like your husband, if the rest of the holidays were like that, it would drive me nuts…
    Cam – thank you!
    Lizzy – it was…
    Stefanie – once school is finally finished you and your man deserve a loooong vacation…
    Bloglily – truly, it soothes my soul…
    Pete – I think you’ll here more about it imminently…
    Smithereens – oh, I FULLY intend to come to Paris. Fortunately that’s a choice I won’t ever have to make.

  12. Amanda says:

    Oh I am green with envy. I’d pick your cabin too over Paris. What a great vacation!

Leave a Reply

