The Honest Scrap Award

Just a quick FYI, there won’t be any recipe (s) of the month this month – the only new recipe I tried was one for ChickenVesuvio and while the flavor was spot-on it warrants further tinkering before I share…otherwise I’ve been doing a lot of lean meats, veggies and whole grains. Hopefully I’ll have a recipe or four to share at the end of October!

So, quite some time ago the lovely inthemainstream nominated me for The Honest Scrap Award. Here it is:

honestscrapawardAnd here are the rules:

1. โ€œThe Honest Scrapโ€ award must be shared.
2. The recipient has to tell 10 true things about themselves that no one else knows.
3. The recipient has to pass along the award to 10 more bloggers.
4. Those 10 bloggers all have to be notified they have been given this award.
5. Those 10 bloggers should link back to the blog that awarded them.

In terms of ten things about myself no one knows…well, I’m not sure if I have three, let alone ten…if you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time you probably know all there is to know about me, but I’ll give it a go, anyway because I am very honored to receive this award!

1. I secretly want to run into Jake Gyllenhal and Reese Witherspoon. Jake is in Pittsburgh filming a movie and I secretly want to run into them…where…the bookstore or a coffee shop or something…but I’ll act very cool and won’t ask for an autograph or anything and we’ll strike up a conversation and realize we have a terrible amount in common. A friendship will be born.

2. Um, continuing the Hollywood theme, I wish people would stop giving Jennifer Aniston a hard time.ย  I think she is one of the most underrated actresses in Hollywood -I don’t think critics understand how difficult comedy is – equal to or more difficult than drama, I think – and she is someone who really disappears into her roles. And also, all the tabloids continuing with the whole Brad/Angelina/one hundred babies thing? Just, ugh. I am pretty sure Jennifer is pretty happy living in sunny California instead of running around after a bajillion babies in a drafty French castle.

3. I watch “The Soup” every week. And I tape “Chelsea Lately” and watch it nearly every day too. And while I used to think if I could be anyone I would be Tina Fey now I think I would be Chelsea Handler, because she is just so wicked funny and also, she drinks vodka while Tina Fey comes across as sort of a teetotaler.

4. I’ve never read To Kill a Mockingbird. I often THINK I have because I confuse it with One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest which I have read but, no, I haven’t read it. The only reason I can write this and not go running back under the covers, though, is because I checked it out from the library and will be rectifying the situation this week. Really, I think a concrete plan to read Harper Lee’s book is the only way one can admit to not having done so previously.

5. I watched the opening sequence to last week’s episode of “Glee” – the dance number to the Beyonce song – at least twenty-five times. I also practiced the dance a little bit in the kitchen while cooking dinner.

6. I am very prematurely worried about the Oscars, because I am pretty sure I am going to have to see “Precious” and the thought of seeing it scares me – it looks like the kind of movie that can knock you down for a week.

7. I miss my friends…my before-I-became-an-adult friends…J and A and M…and I worry that no friends I make now will ever measure up to them. I went to the movies and lunch with some newish friends on Saturday and it was fun but it wasn’t, like, the most fun, you know? Everyone I am making friends with here in Pittsburgh seems to be younger than me, too – late twenties – which shouldn’t feel like a big deal but it DOES, anyway. I am going to keep making an effort to make friends but I do wonder when I’ll stop thinking of my old friends as my “real” friends, as though everyone else I hang out with are just place holders or something.

8. I have absolutely NO patience for facebook, blogging or twitter angst. I am pretty sure I have said this before but if facebook, blogging or twitter is annoying you then STOP USING THEM. Don’t clog my status updates, google reader and tweets with your anxiety, and furthermore, I think all of these academic discussions surrounding social media tools are hilarious…all of the what does this mean and is society going down the toilet? Yes, probably our society has taken a turn for the worse with some of these things but it can’t be too much worse than when people started eating insects on television.

9. Sometimes I think my life would be infinitely easier if I gave up writing. I am pretty confident everything else in my life would improve…I’d be a better wife, a better employee, I’d work more on and around the house and would go to the gym more often – and lately I’ve been having the whole “what’s the point” thoughts run around my head. But I’m not going to quit.

10. I still don’t fully appreciate the band Wilco – my favorite song remains Heavy Metal Drummer – but I like the latest cd more than the last two.

Now, to tag ten people. I am going old-school with this one – all of whom have probably read To Kill a Mockingbird.

1. Bloglily

2. Cam

3. Charlotte

4. Emily

5. Gumbomum

7. Noble Savage

8. Of Books and Bikes

9. Litlove

10. Andi

6. Ms. Make Tea

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Honest Scrap Award

  1. Andi says:

    Thanks for the nomination. I’m on it tomorrow. And I love the yoga practice days. I take comfort in your sporadic practice, and I hope you take comfort that mine is even more sporadic.

  2. Amanda says:

    I’m glad that I’m not the only one who gets books confused based on the title. I kept getting Turn of the Screw and Screwtape Letters confused. I also want to randomly run into celebrities…but then I think about it and I’d be awfully embarrassed and shy so maybe not. Hmm.

  3. Noooooo, don’t quit! We’re together in this.

    Many thanks for the award.

  4. A Free Man says:

    You should totally read “To Kill A Mockingbird”. It’s banned books week and that one was one of the most frequently banned.

  5. litlove says:

    Oh thank you for the nomination! I just left a comment on a blog the other day about not having a meme in the back drawer for a slow day. Although sometimes I think my problem is being too honest… ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your points though, and hope it’s comforting on some level to know I’ve not read EITHER To Kill a Mockingbird or One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Hmm, should do something about that!

  6. Pete says:

    I feel quite smug here having read the Mocking Bird (but only because it was prescribed at school). I can identify with the friend angst. I miss my old friends too and it’s hard to make new ones here.

  7. ZoesMom says:

    I’ve watched that entire episode of Glee twice now and I’ve watched the dance scene on the football field repeatedly. Love it!

  8. Pingback: Ten True Things « Make Tea Not War

  9. Make Tea Not War says:

    Meme is done. And you are quite right I HAVE read to Kill a Mocking Bird. It was compulsory at school (as it was for Pete) ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Make Tea Not War says:

    PS I also find academic discussions about social media hilarious. And people who make a living from being social meeja experts amuse me too. What a scam. I always block them when they try to follow me on twitter.

  11. Emily Barton says:

    Thanks for the award. Now, to try to come up with ten new things. Over the years, we’ve probably all come up with at least 100 each for these sorts of memes, haven’t we? May I steal your missing old friends one?
    And YOU are gonna love _To Kill a Mockingbird_. It’s a book just written for Courtney. Then watch the movie, if you haven’t. Superb!

  12. Dorothy W. says:

    Many thanks for the nomination! I do love reading people’s lists. I totally agree with you about blog, Twitter, and Facebook angst; I suppose I can sometimes sound angsty on my blog, but I try not to. I find myself defending Twitter pretty frequently because people complain about it a lot, and generally they are the people who don’t use it and they have no idea that it’s not all banal stuff people write there.

  13. inthemainstream says:

    Why are we not hanging out in real life? Like eight of these, I did the amen head-nod, which you can’t see through the magical Internet.

  14. Courtney says:

    Andi- you are welcome! I am determined to firm up my practice before the end of the year, but working full-time does make it hard to get to classes…
    Amanda – I am glad I am in good company. I often confuse the names of books.
    Charlotte – oh, I won’t quit, don’t you worry! I just sometimes think my life would be simpler if I did.
    Free Man – dude, I AM. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Litlove – I know, I think I am out of memes…finally caught up! I would like one to have in my back pocket – but I’m sure one will come around soon…
    Pete – I can’t believe I didn’t read it in school. I wonder if because I was in advanced English classes maybe they just assumed I had read it at some point? I don’t know…
    Zoe – I will probably buy that show on dvd just for that scene. Pure, pure brilliance.
    Ms. Make Tea – yes, exactly. All of this “what does it mean” angst seems a little over the top, to me…
    Emily, steal away! Ten is a tough number for this one, I think!
    Dorothy – you are welcome! And yes, all of these things certainly have their uses, I think.
    In the Main Stream – you are in Pittsburgh, yes? And in the same MFA program I was in many years ago? I fear I am old and would jade your enthusiasm! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Noble Savage says:

    Thank you for the tag! I need a meme to do soon so will file this away for near-future reference.

  16. Pingback: The Honest Scrap meme, blogging version « Of Books and Bicycles

Leave a Reply

