Goblins, Ghouls, Ghosts, Oh My!

Emily tagged me for her spooktacular new Halloween meme II. I thought about putting off filling it out until Friday or Saturday but then realized with my current blogging pace of about one post a week I might not get it up before the cobwebs are swept away and the creak in the stairs is nothing more than that, a creak, instead of ghost footsteps, and pumpkins are turned into pies while the last of the leaves fall from the trees. I am super excited for Halloween this year since I learned we get quite a few trick-or-treaters. S. will be out of town visiting his father so Skylar and I will be left to protect the house from tricks. Do you think this face could carry off a witch hat?

skyI am not going to tag thirteen separate people for this meme…if you are reading this, please consider yourself tagged! I’d love to see this everywhere this week.
Rules:

1. Answer the questions on your own blog.

2. Tag 13 others to answer the questions on their blogs and link to them.

1). Which urban legend ghost scared the bejeezus out of you when you were a kid?

I can’t think of a specific urban legend, but I was always very freaked out the idea that if you went into the bathroom, looked in mirror, and said …what was it…red rum? Bloody Mary? Murder? I don’t remember what you had to say but you said it three times and then Bloody Mary would appear in the mirror. I always found the temptation to do this almost overwhelming, but I never did it.

2). Which horror movie has the best premise?

I have to admit I haven’t seen a ton of horror movies but some movies that scared me include Arachnid, Cape Fear and Silence of the Lambs. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a slasher type horror movie.

3). What is the most disappointing “treat” to receive in your bag on Halloween night?

Apples or popcorn balls, because they could hide razor blades. Come to think of it, are razor blades in apples an urban legend? Did this actually ever happen to anyone?

4). What’s the best non-candy item to receive?

gift certificates to McDonalds or Burger King. I wasn’t allowed to eat fast food when I was little and I LOVED that I could go get a burger or a shake with one of those gift certificates.

5). Did a monster live in your closet when you were a child?

No. He lived in the radiator and in the toy box. I have no idea why. I was an odd child.

6). Which supernatural creature sent chills up your spine when you were ten and still does?

Zombies. God, is there anything scarier than a zombie?

7). Which supernatural creature makes you yawn?

Frankenstein the Monster (right? We call the tv version of Frankentstein Frankenstein and not Adam, right? Well, Adam, Frankentein’s monster makes me very sad, but Frankenstein with the green head and the screws and etc. makes me yawn)

8). What’s your favorite Halloween decoration?

Carved pumpkins with candles inside. My neighbors also have a pretty cool collection of witches happening next door.

9). If you could be anywhere on Halloween night, where would you be?

At my mom and dad’s house, handing out candy and drinking martinis like we have for the past few years, Warren Zevon on the stereo. Alas, it wasn’t meant to be this year.
10). What’s the scariest book you’ve read so far this year?

True Evil, Gregory Isles

11). Haunted houses or haunted hayrides?

Haunted hayrides! I used to go on these with my youth group in high school. Delicious.

12). Which Stephen King novel/movie would you least like to find yourself trapped in?

The Shining.

13). Which are creepiest: evil dolls, evil pets, or evil children?

Evil dolls. Sheesh, those things are scary. In fact, one of the scariest movies I’ve ever seen was on Alfred Hitchcock presents when I was younger. It was about a girl who had an evil doll and the evil doll did lots of bad things but those things kept getting blamed on the girl until one day her parents, who did NOT believe her, found HER, their daughter, IN THE DOLL BOX and the doll alive!! OMG. I have been trying to track this movie down for awhile now so if it sounds familiar do let me know because as it stands I have every season of Alfred Hitchcock presents in my blockbuster cue in an attempt to find it.

Happy Halloween week, everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goblins, Ghouls, Ghosts, Oh My!

  1. Pete says:

    Happy Halloween week to you too Courtney! Shocking admission but I think in my 39 years I’ve celebrated Halloween exactlty … once. Not a big festival here which is very sad. But I’ll get into the spirit via the blog. Maybe P can do this one since she’s the horror fan in our house.

  2. litlove says:

    What is a haunted hayride? It sounds charming! Love your answers, Courtney and keep forgetting that Halloween is on its way – must get in sweeties. This is a delightful reminder.

  3. Emily Barton says:

    Thanks for playing. Skylar can definitely pull off a with’s hat. And I agree: zombies are very, very scary!

  4. Pingback: Halloween meme « Couch trip

  5. Pete…once? Just once? That is shocking! I’ve missed a few Halloweens but I’ve celebrated it the majority of my 32 years…
    Litlove, well, let me tell you – a haunted hay ride is where you take get on a big wagon full of hay and go through woods/maze/cornfield, full of ghosts and witches and spirits.
    Emily – everyone else thinks dressing my dog up is dumb. I think he would look spectacular!

Leave a Reply

