Polish Kraut and Apples

Oh, readers. It isn’t that I haven’t been cooking. Nor is it that I’ve been making such tantalizing, delicious recipes I can’t bring myself to share them with you. No, since I decided to begin my project of cooking through all of my saved and marked recipes, and organizing them, I’ve come across a lot of stinkers. I made enough bad dinners that S. gently recommended that perhaps I stop trying my internet recipes and instead turn my attention to those recipes clipped from newspapers or marked in cookbooks because obviously internet recipes are not to be trusted. But after all, I have a system and I didn’t want to sacrifice the system and so I ate a lot of crap to bring you this deliciousness. (In other news, I’ve determined I just don’t like red or green curries. I tried multiple recipes and every single one was a dud. I actually think I only really like yellow curries and then, only when S. makes them. I’m giving up on trying to become a curry person.)

A couple years ago I  signed up for the website spark people.com – I guess I did so because I heard it was a very helpful tool in the weight loss arena but I never ended up participating in the site – it just didn’t appeal to me enough to engage with, I guess. But I do still receive emails from the site and I do have to say the site recommends some excellent exercises and yummy-sounding recipes. On Tuesday I decided to try my hand at a recipe that had been sitting in my in-box for quite some time – Polish Kraut and apples. It’s a recipe for the crock pot, and those can be fairly hit or miss, but the recipe sounded wonderful for a chilly evening. Seasonal purists beware – I realize apples aren’t in season – I made the dish, anyway. That said, S. and I both agreed from now on this would probably be a fall dish, especially appropriate for football Sundays when you want something delicious and easy. The ingredients are easy and things I often have on hand, so it’s a nice, easy option. And since the recipe came from sparkpeople, it’s healthy-ish. And did I mention, delicious? And vitamin-C packed? And a hit with my husband, who is suffering through a terrible head cold? He ate two servings.

Without further ado, I bring you just the second recipe good enough to make it into my official recipe box, joining Scallops that make the Sky go Boom, Polist Kraut and Apples:

Polish Kraut ‘n Apples

INGREDIENTS
1 lb fresh or canned sauerkraut
1 lb lean smoked Polish sausage
3 tart cooking apples — thickly sliced
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp caraway seeds — (optional)
3/4 cup apple juice or cider

DIRECTIONS
Rinse sauerkraut and squeeze dry.
Place half of the sauerkraut in slow cooker.
Cut sausage into 2 inch lengths. Place in slow cooker. Continue to layer in slow cooker, in order, apples, brown sugar, salt, pepper and if desired caraway seeds.
Top with remaining sauerkraut.
Add apple juice. DO NOT STIR.
Cover and cook for 3 to 3-1/2 hours or on low for 6 to 7 hours or until apples are tender.
Stir before serving.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Polish Kraut and Apples

  1. Andi says:

    Yum! And I’ll definitely be looking at that scallop recipe, too.

  2. appellationmountain says:

    I am so very impressed that you are cooking your way through all of your clipped recipes! I have TONS of great ideas in my “someday” file, but somehow we keep eating mac’n’cheese.

  3. Stefanie says:

    yay for finding another winning recipe! Too bad you had to have so many not so good ones before this one. Wouldn’t it be nice if there was some way of determining before you make a recipe whether you will ike it?

  4. litlove says:

    So many internet recipes are in American measures of cups and sticks and goodness only knows what, and involve ingredients not available over here. Boo hoo! For instance, I have never seen sauerkraut in either tinned or fresh form on the supermarket shelves. But this is a lovely sausage casserole, I can see, and I’m sure it’s adaptable. For sausages, I usually make a gravy to which I add sauteed onions and a teaspoon of wholegrain mustard. And then if you chop up sweet potatoes and ordinary potatoes into smallish cubes and roast them with a little salt and rosemary (and garlic too, if you like it), they make a lovely accompaniment.

  5. Cam says:

    This is similar to a recipe that my husband makes, except with country pork ribs instead of the saugage, and he cooks in the oven instead of crock pot (I think 375 for 1 hr). It is one of my favorite dishes. I’m sure almost as good as yours. The funny thing about T’s recipe is that it always seems that one ingredient is left out — but it still turns out yummy. Not being much of a carnivore, I’ve made the saurekraut & apples before I joked that I left out the meat.

  6. shoreacres says:

    I’m not a huge fan of sauerkraut, but this sounds really good. I believe I’m going to give it a go after daylight savings time starts – I actually use the crockpot more then, because I work by the sun and end up getting home to late to cook and still have dinner at a decent hour.

    I suspect the apples help to temper the “krautiness” a bit. It’s worth a try!

  7. Courtney says:

    Andi – try them both! And have ingredients on hand, always, for both – with all the mouths you have to feed both are quick and easy!
    A – HI!! Before you find yourself too impressed, I don’t have THAT many recipes saved – several, to be sure, but not the way I imagine some people do – I’m not an avid recipe reader so these have piled up over YEARS and this is an entirely doable project.
    Stefanie – it would! I still don’t know my own palate well enough to have much of an instinct. I’ve really made some stinker recipes lately!
    Litlove – that sweet potato mash sounds wonderful! I am sad, though, that sauerkraut isn’t available to you – I don’t eat it often but it complements certain meats beautifully, and it’s very good for you!
    Cam – um, I am so making this again, soon, with country ribs instead of the sausage! Unlike you I am quite a carnivore (more on that, soon) and couldn’t imagine just eating sauerkraut and apples!
    Shoreacres – the apples make the sauerkraut really sweet – definitely tastes more like apples than sauerkraut, certainly.

  8. shoreacres says:

    Courtney ~ I made it, and it was WONDERFUL!

    Mama says I am to make it again. Soon. Here ends your unsolicited testimonial!

  9. Emily Barton says:

    Sounds delicious. Of course, right now I am in the midst of vegetarianism Lent. I might try with vegetarian sausage, but as soon as Lent is over…

Leave a Reply

